Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
This sweet and sour sauce is the best! I don't use the pineapple, just because I dislike it. The sauce is by far the best dipping sauce. Thanks Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Excellent. This makes a lot of sauce, too. I did omit the pineapple (my husband and I do not like it) and it was still great. Used it atop the Sweet and Sour Pork Patties recipe (submitted by Linda) on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Debbie. Tastes better than the sauce at my favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a great recipe! I used 8 ounces of tomato sauce because I didn't have any tomato paste on hand. Also used 8 ounces of crushed pineapple instead of tidbits for the same reason. :) I added this sauce to a basic chicken stir fry recipe and served it over rice. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I have never had sweet and sour sauce better anywhere, in a jar or at a restuarant. I usually have trouble getting things to thicken for some reason, so I was worried about this the sauce thickening enough to use. I didn't have to worry at all. It tasted delicous and was the perfect consistency. I used tomato sauce because I didn't have tomato paste. I also stained out the pineapple because I didn't like the fact of eating the pineapple in the sauce. Great recipe Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This sauce is so simple to make and tastes just like what you'd find in a Chinese restaurant, if not better. I did not alter the recipe at all and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
This is very good, but it makes a lot! I used it as a dipping sauce for chicken tenders. It kind of reminds me of the sweet and sour sauce you get at fast food restaurants. It is far better than that fake-looking pink stuff some Chinese restaurants serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
How easy! How delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Very good sauce---quite rich and a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This is the best sweet and sour sauce. I used the recipe once in December'04 for a christmas party, and now my girlfriends and i are having a little lunch and they have requested the egg rolls and especially this Sauce . YUMMY!!! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States