Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I tweaked this recipe a bit based on what was in my pantry (no paste-used sauce). I also added soy sauce (2T) and used the juice from a can of pineapples as part of the water. I also let this simmer for about 20 minutes before I added the cornstarch. My VERY picky 8 yr old (whom this was made for) thought it was better than the sweet and sour sauce from (insert fast food restaurant name here ):) so it was absolutely a success and will be made again. To reiterate another reviewer - cornstarch must be mixed with a little water/juice before adding to recipes. Also bring it to a full boil after adding to get it to thicken. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Awesome sauce! I did as other reviewers suggested and used the pineapple juice (into which I mixed 3 heaping tablespoons of corn starch) and soy sauce. I simmered it for 20 minutes. My family loved it! A keeper for sure!Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Terrific S&S sauce! I added some soy sauce for depth & saltiness and some chopped green onion and bell pepper and it turned out just as I like it(and my kids RAVED about it!). I was skeptical about using tomato paste because all other recipes I had seen used ketchup for the "red", but it was really very good. For those of you who worry about it being too tomatoey - it tastes just like really good Sweet & Sour from the Chinese restaurant. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a great recipe! I used 8 ounces of tomato sauce because I didn't have any tomato paste on hand. Also used 8 ounces of crushed pineapple instead of tidbits for the same reason. :) I added this sauce to a basic chicken stir fry recipe and served it over rice. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is so quick and easy! I use the pineapple juice from the tidbits and add water to make 2 cups. (sometimes I half the recipe as it makes quite a bit) I also use ketchup in place of the tomato paste, it adds an extra zing. While the sauce is cooking, I bake some breaded chicken pieces and sautee some bell peppers and onions. Mix it all together and serve over hot rice for a "20 minute meal".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YELLEPHANT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This sauce is great. It was my first attempt at homemade swwet & sour sauce and I must say I was a bit apprehensive! I cut the recipe in half (there are just the two of us) and it still made plenty. I also used Splenda instead of sugar and you couldn't tell the difference. The only reason I didn't rate this a 5 star was because I had to strain the cornstarch lumps out of the sauce. I would definitely recommend mixing the cornstarch with water first before adding. Otherwise the flavor, color and consistency of the sauce was awesome. I also used it with the pork patties submitted by Linda on this site and my husband has now requested this combo be a regular in our house. We will never buy store-bought sweet & sour sauce again. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I have never had sweet and sour sauce better anywhere, in a jar or at a restuarant. I usually have trouble getting things to thicken for some reason, so I was worried about this the sauce thickening enough to use. I didn't have to worry at all. It tasted delicous and was the perfect consistency. I used tomato sauce because I didn't have tomato paste. I also stained out the pineapple because I didn't like the fact of eating the pineapple in the sauce. Great recipe Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I agree with STEVERAMSEY. The sauce was easy and good for your regular order-in Chinese food... and the colour was Fantastic!, but if I'm going to cook something from scratch, I want a little more Zing! It's a generous recipe, so I made only 1/2 with the following changes: 1 c chicken broth(not water), 1/3 c rice vinegar(not white), 3/4 c sugar(half white, half brown), 1 whole can peaches, 2 T cornstarch, a few turns of freshly-ground black pepper. The sauce bubbled happily away with the juice from the peaches and when it was thick, I gently tossed a chopped, sauteed onion; 1 lb of cooked, diced chicken; a chopped, sauteed, orange bell pepper, and the peaches in. Next time, I'll try a fresh, tart pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Well, this recipe DID get a great review from a lot of people. However, I did not find it to my taste. I think the tomato paste was too much. Maybe adding 1/3 of the actual paste might help. Some tips with cornstarch, because I saw a few people had clumps of it. Cornstarch reacts with hot liquids and balls up. To fix this blend it with cold/cool water (or in some recipes) the vinegar first. This will prevent the balling. Also don't put all 3 tbsp in at once. I usually do one at a time, stir it until blended and then do the next one. This will prevent any balling up as well. I think with some modifications this could be a great recipe! The thickness was great and the pineapple chunks are just delicious. This would go great with deep fried pork or chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Debbie. Tastes better than the sauce at my favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States