Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
This sweet and sour sauce is the best! I don't use the pineapple, just because I dislike it. The sauce is by far the best dipping sauce. Thanks Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Debbie. Tastes better than the sauce at my favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a great recipe! I used 8 ounces of tomato sauce because I didn't have any tomato paste on hand. Also used 8 ounces of crushed pineapple instead of tidbits for the same reason. :) I added this sauce to a basic chicken stir fry recipe and served it over rice. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I have never had sweet and sour sauce better anywhere, in a jar or at a restuarant. I usually have trouble getting things to thicken for some reason, so I was worried about this the sauce thickening enough to use. I didn't have to worry at all. It tasted delicous and was the perfect consistency. I used tomato sauce because I didn't have tomato paste. I also stained out the pineapple because I didn't like the fact of eating the pineapple in the sauce. Great recipe Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This sauce is so simple to make and tastes just like what you'd find in a Chinese restaurant, if not better. I did not alter the recipe at all and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
This is very good, but it makes a lot! I used it as a dipping sauce for chicken tenders. It kind of reminds me of the sweet and sour sauce you get at fast food restaurants. It is far better than that fake-looking pink stuff some Chinese restaurants serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Very good sauce! It's not as good as the kind you get at the store but it is as good as the chinese take out sauce! I can't believe how incredibly easy it was to make! It definitely took me less than 15 minutes to make up. I used this with the Sweet & Sour Pork Patties, and it was perfection! Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
How easy! How delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Very good & super easy, will definitely use this from now on over the jarred stuff - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Very good sauce---quite rich and a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States