Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I had never made sweet and sour sauce before, but I wanted to use it to go along with the recipe for Pork Spring Rolls on here (which, by the way, are AWESOME!). I used the pineapple chunks in the sauce, but it came out very sweet, so I offset it with a little (asian) garlic chile sauce (the one I used in the spring rolls, in case you'r e making them too), and some cayenne pepper to give it a kick. I also added two little packets (2 Tbsp) of soy sauce (like you get with take out), as another person suggested. It was a huge hit! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwinville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was a good pairing for the "Best Eggrolls" on this site. I used the juice of the pineapple (not the tidbits) and cut the sweetness with a few shakes of soy sauce while it was simmering. Next time I will cut this recipe in half because it makes so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This was very yummy but I chose to cut the vinegar WAY back (vinegar is one of those things where a little bit goes a long way so I knew from the start I didn't want 2/3 cup in my sauce...lol). I only used about 1/4 cup (maybe not even that much) But other than that this is an excellent recipe for sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECOLEMAN24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This sauce is PERFECT!!!! I LIVE in China. I am living here and teaching English. My CHINESE friends ask me for the recipe because they say it is the best they have had!!! Try this FOR SURE!!!! :) Well Done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethStrate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I used tomato paste. Use juice from 8 oz. pineapple (crushed or diced) and measure it with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
It was good but was not super impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
SOO much better than store bought! Yum! I make it for homemade wontons filled with cream cheese and water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Very good! I'll never buy the store brand again. This is just like the resturant style sauce. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I used a 16 oz can of pineapple and juice and omitted the water-- it was delicious and easy!! Great recipe, just make sure to keep stirring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Excellent! At the last moment, we made grilled shrimp, and with no sauce available, I found this. I had to use tomato sauce instead of paste because that is what I had on hand. This came out as exactly what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States