Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
It was good but was not super impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
SOO much better than store bought! Yum! I make it for homemade wontons filled with cream cheese and water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Very good! I'll never buy the store brand again. This is just like the resturant style sauce. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I used a 16 oz can of pineapple and juice and omitted the water-- it was delicious and easy!! Great recipe, just make sure to keep stirring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Excellent! At the last moment, we made grilled shrimp, and with no sauce available, I found this. I had to use tomato sauce instead of paste because that is what I had on hand. This came out as exactly what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This is incredible! I've been looking for a Sweet and Sour recipe for ages and I've found it. I did substitute ketchup for the tomato paste and added additional pineapple juice to taste. This recipie makes a HUGE amount so if you just want it for a setting for one meal of a family of 4 or 5 cut it in half if you are using it for a dipping sauce. Thank you myrite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
We made it as the recipe stated this time but next time will use pineapple juice in place of the water to make it a little more tangy and will substitute apple cider vinegar for the white vinegar. Hopefully then it will be a 5. It was just a tad "tomatoey" as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I love this sauce! It tastes just like the chinese restaurant. The only difference is that I normally don't add the pineapple tidbits. It's really good either way though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Quick,easy, and tasty. Besides just adding pineapple I also added a can of green chiles to make it more of a sweet, sour, spicy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Well it doesn't get much easier than this! I used crushed pineapple and ketchup as substitutions, and added a dash of soy sauce. Great results. Too sweet for me, so will adjust next time. Also - the recipe is huge! Will likely cut recipe in half next time. Will try freezing in the meantime and see how well it holds up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States