Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
this is really good. I did not have paste so I used tomato sauce as suggested. also I chopped up sliced pineapple(all I had on hand). followed directions and had no problems with the cornstarch. This is definitely a keeper for my house. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Anthony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
A good general recipe to follow. Add some green bell pepper & onion chunks for some colour and flavour. Keep and use the pineapple juice instead of the sugar. I like the use of tomato paste instead of ketchup, more old school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Delicious! We made a massive amount of it and put it on a pork-and-Asian-veg stirfry. Mmmm! Low effort too, and cheap ingredients. Plus masses of sauce meaning it was good to keep and use for another meal, and would be easy to produce enough for a large dinner party. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I absolutely LOVE sweet and sour sauce but I don't eat chicken, so I don't get to eat it very often. This recipe is SUPERB and totally fixed my craving. I made it exactly as the recipe called, only adding a dash of soy sauce, some jalapeno peppers and some scallions. I put it over my veggie chicken and brown rice. I am so happy, you have totally made my day with this recipe. I have lots of leftovers and will use it over tofu. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Perfect. Exactly the flavor I was looking for! Thank you so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riceville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was a really easy and great companion to our egg rolls. I did make a few tweeks. I had a cup of Chicken broth that needed used so used it and 1 cup water, and subsituted apple cider vinegar (didn't have any white on hand), and omitted the pineapples as my boys to like them. Will defiantley add to our recpie box (with the changes of course) Gave it 4 stars we though it was 5 star with the changes and didn't make it excactly as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockway, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This simple recipe for sweet and sour sauce is the best. I used ketchup in it instead of tomato paste. I may never buy bottled sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I make this recipe (by family request) like at least once a month. I have found that using crushed pineapple, or using a stick blender after it is all completed. It speads out the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Good stuff! It makes a ton so I divide up the leftovers into little bags and freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States