Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was very good. I made some alterations based on what i had. I used balsalmic vinegar instead of white, which made it a brown color. I also used ketchup instead of tomato paste, and I added pineapples. Will def use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cohutta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I will never buy s & s sauce again. This was fantastic! I used crushed pineapple instead of tidbits Made as directed it was a little to sweet and not enough sour, for our taste but that was easily fixed with additional vinegar. Served with Cindi's Egg Rolls (from this site), beer battered chicken nuggets and rice. Perfection. Everyone said it tasted just like the s & s sauce served at Chinese restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I thought this was pretty tasty. The only change I made was to use 8 oz crushed pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
ahhhhh didn't really like this...too chunky for my taste....just didn't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli Lassiter-Vering

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This sauce is FANTASTIC! I omitted the pineapple AND cornstarch and it was amazing! Tastes just like the s&s sauce at a restaurant... I HIGHLY recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
this is really good. I did not have paste so I used tomato sauce as suggested. also I chopped up sliced pineapple(all I had on hand). followed directions and had no problems with the cornstarch. This is definitely a keeper for my house. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Anthony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
A good general recipe to follow. Add some green bell pepper & onion chunks for some colour and flavour. Keep and use the pineapple juice instead of the sugar. I like the use of tomato paste instead of ketchup, more old school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Delicious! We made a massive amount of it and put it on a pork-and-Asian-veg stirfry. Mmmm! Low effort too, and cheap ingredients. Plus masses of sauce meaning it was good to keep and use for another meal, and would be easy to produce enough for a large dinner party. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I absolutely LOVE sweet and sour sauce but I don't eat chicken, so I don't get to eat it very often. This recipe is SUPERB and totally fixed my craving. I made it exactly as the recipe called, only adding a dash of soy sauce, some jalapeno peppers and some scallions. I put it over my veggie chicken and brown rice. I am so happy, you have totally made my day with this recipe. I have lots of leftovers and will use it over tofu. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States