Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Yummy and so easy. Didn't change anything but did add a small amount of green pepper which I sautéed a little to soften. Served it in a crock pot with meatballs. Sure to become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Awesome! After our favorite chinese restaurant closed in town, I have been missing his unique take on Sweet and Sour chicken. This recipe is the closest I have found, and is so much better than any of the remaining restaraunts to choose from. Will try to replace some of the water with pineapple juice (instead of using tidbits - hubby hates pineapple pieces), and maybe a touch less sugar. Cooked with tyson's honey battered chicken nuggets, and this was a big hit for my son's birthday party (bizarre since he requested the infamous rice with "red sauce").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So easy and so delicious! I substituted a cup or so of ketchup for the tomato paste since I didn't have tomato paste and it still came out great! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This sauce is VERY good. It tastes a bit strange if you're sampling it while it's cooking, but once you put it on your stir-fry it's great! (I used pineapple juice instead of water, ketchup instead of tomato paste and a dash of soy sauce as per previous reviewers' suggestions)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was a good starting point for me, as I made several changes. I used chicken broth instead of water. Added a shake of ground ginger, some red pepper flakes and a couple of shakes of hot sauce. I used ketchup instead of tomato paste. And added about a tablespoon of honey and sesame seeds. I had no pineapple, so I left it out. This sauce was used over a chicken stir-fry, sweet/sour with a bit of heat. Very good with the additions/subtractions I made. Like I said, it was a good starting point for me...then I became creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This came out with a strong tomato taste to it. I ended up adding more water, double the pineapple (with juice) and added more sugar to try to balance the tomato and it is still too dominant. Next time I will skip the paste or maybe just use 2 ounces. Update: 5 star with changes. I completely skipped the tomato paste and added about a tablespoon of ketchup to it for color and the slight bitter taste of tomato. It came out really good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Tastes like you get in a resterant! My husband raved! He doesn't do that often. Just wondering if I can freeze the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Didn't have any pineapple, but it tastes great even without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsb9938

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
It was great and the first time I have ever made Sweet and Sour Sauce!!!! I loved it!! I also never realized what was really in SSS. Now one question.. How do I store it? Container wise?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjbctal
Home Town: Dove Creek, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States