Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Was looking for a cheap sauce to put on top of Hawaiian meatballs that I made for a potluck dinner. This was what we tried. LOVED it, but added a little extra vinegar for zing. After reading some reviews, I will add some soy sauce to it, too. Great starter recipe, and I can't WAIT to eat our meatballs! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanawha, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashua, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I also thought the sauce much too heavy on the tomato paste. It was the first thing I could taste when it hit my tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Great recipe very easy, kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This was soooo good, and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
i loved this! i did't have any pineapple on hand but it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Yummy and so easy. Didn't change anything but did add a small amount of green pepper which I sautéed a little to soften. Served it in a crock pot with meatballs. Sure to become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Awesome! After our favorite chinese restaurant closed in town, I have been missing his unique take on Sweet and Sour chicken. This recipe is the closest I have found, and is so much better than any of the remaining restaraunts to choose from. Will try to replace some of the water with pineapple juice (instead of using tidbits - hubby hates pineapple pieces), and maybe a touch less sugar. Cooked with tyson's honey battered chicken nuggets, and this was a big hit for my son's birthday party (bizarre since he requested the infamous rice with "red sauce").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
So easy and so delicious! I substituted a cup or so of ketchup for the tomato paste since I didn't have tomato paste and it still came out great! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This sauce is VERY good. It tastes a bit strange if you're sampling it while it's cooking, but once you put it on your stir-fry it's great! (I used pineapple juice instead of water, ketchup instead of tomato paste and a dash of soy sauce as per previous reviewers' suggestions)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was a good starting point for me, as I made several changes. I used chicken broth instead of water. Added a shake of ground ginger, some red pepper flakes and a couple of shakes of hot sauce. I used ketchup instead of tomato paste. And added about a tablespoon of honey and sesame seeds. I had no pineapple, so I left it out. This sauce was used over a chicken stir-fry, sweet/sour with a bit of heat. Very good with the additions/subtractions I made. Like I said, it was a good starting point for me...then I became creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States