Sweet and Sour Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Great recipe. Better than most sweet and sour sauce because I could adjust the sweet (those are always too sweet for my family's taste). I use ketchup as other people had recommended and cut the sugar in half (used all brown sugar). I only made a half recipe which makes a bunch. I'm gonna see if it freezes ok since we didn't use it all. I used it with the Best Egg Rolls recipe from here...great take out meal without the cost. Our kids gave the whole meal a "Definitely make this again, Mom" vote. That's 5 stars for sure. Also the leftovers are going in their lunch boxes tomorrow!!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was about as good as it gets!!!! The whole family loved this sauce. We made it for egg roles. I split the sauce dish. The one I left alone. To the other, I added some ground up habanero pepper. That added some bite! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was amazing! I will never buy sweet and sour sauce at the grocery again. I did have to alter it a bit to fit what I had in the pantry..I used 8 oz tomato sauce instead of paste,1 small can crushed pineapple (including juice), reduced the water to 1 cup with the 3 tbs cornstarch dissolved in it, added 3 tbs soy sauce...simmered it all on the stove for 20 minutes...it was perfect! Great basic recipe for sweet and sour sauce...I am definitely using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I used pineapple juice for some of the water. Ended up being 1 cup juice, 1 cup water. The end result was too sweet for our tastes, so I added some soy sauce, zesty Mrs. Dash, salt, and more vinegar. Next time, I will cut the sugar and not use quite as much juice. I am also considering using an artificial sweetner, like Splenda or whatever one is recommended for baking. Hubby really liked it. We made some chicken (browned in a frypan with a little margarine) and had it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was awsome. I added green pepper, onion and carrots to the sauce while it was cooking, I also was going to add a can of pineapple chunks at the end so I poured the juice into the sauce at this time.then I added the cornstarch and pineapple chunks after the veggies were cooked al dente. I followed a few reviews by using 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. I used 1/2 cider vinegar and 1/2 white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
From now on I am throwing out the one that comes with my food...and making my own.....Thank you for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I quadrupled this recipe for my daughers wedding reception. I had pre-made frozen Italian meatballs and simmered them in this sauce. They were the hit of the night and everyone wanted the recipe. I will make this sauce again and use it on chicken. I also put in some green peppers and used more pineapple juice and cornstarch to make it thicker. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Still searching for our very favorite restaurant's version of sweet and sour, but this is the best homemade one we've tried so far. I used pineapple juice for liquid, and omitted the crushed pineapple. Everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this last night for some egg rolls I had and this was great. I took some ideas from others: cut back a bit on the sugar, used 1/2 brown sugar instead of all white, used the juice from the pineapple and added a bit of soy sauce to it. It really tasted good, wasn't too sweet/sour. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahicswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Awesome recipe. It was my first attempt at sweet and sour sauce and it turned out great. I didn't use the pineapple and used tomato sauce instead of paste. I also replaced the white wine vinegar with apple cider vinegar. I did face minimal clumpage with the cornstarch which I really could have avoided by mixing it with water first, my mistake. But it still looked and tasted amazing. This will definately be a recipe i use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States