Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
As the recipe is written, this is a good sauce. I did do a few things to doctor my version of the sauce which I think gave it more body and flavor. I used the recipe with these substitutions: 1/4 C of brown sugar and 1/2 C of white sugar instead of 3/4 C white sugar, 1/4 C of pineapple juice instead of water, 1/4 C of ketchup instead of the 1 tablespoon (trust me on this!), and I used 2 Tablespoons of flour dissolved into a little water. I added the flour/water mixture to the boiling (on low heat) mix of the other items. I thought these substitutions brought more body, flavor, and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This recipe was quite good. I was looking for something fast to serve with leftover takeout Chinese food as we had no more S/S packets. You will shorten cooking time considerably if you combine all ingredients *except* cornstarch, let come to a boil, spoon out about a 1/4 cup of the sauce into your measuring cup, mix in the cornstarch with it and then slowly add while mixing to the remainder of sauce in pan. It will take only 5-6 minutes to cook and it will thicken immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I make this all the time and have passed the recipe around to many. I have followed all the suggestions left by others at different times and no matter what I have done to this recipe, it turns out great! We put chicken in it, or ground beef, or meatballs and serve it over rice. I have added veggies also. You can't go wrong. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This was okay but even with my modifications, still needs some work to perfect. Per previous reviews regards the excessiveness of the soy sauce, I reduced the amt to 2 TBLS but next time I'll reduce down to 1. I also added 1 TBLS of honey. Next time, I also reduce the vinegar to 1/8 cup and add 1/4 cup pineapple juice. I'm hoping this might taste closer to the sweet&sour sauces I am accustomed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Great recipe. Kept amt. of soy sauce as written and just added about 1 TBSP of honey. Perfect for chicken tenders! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Thank you Linda! I have been searching hi and low for a s-n-s sauce that tastes much like something you would find in a chinese restaurant. perfect balance of sweet with sour. served this great sauce (that you can make as thick or thin as you like) over stir fried chicken and veggies on thin spaghetti. Tasted really close to Chicken Lo Mein!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I made this on a night that I tried to make my Grandmom's fried chicken fingers and ended up messing them up and they looked like the Chinese sweet & sour chiken strips...so I grabbed this in a matter of 2 minutes and turned them into the Chinese sweet & sour chicken. Anyway, I really liked this!! I thought it was fabulous and tasted just like the hot-pink kind from the Chinese take-outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Easy to make. Made this for a large party and had loads of requests for this recipe. I used this for store bought meatball cocktails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
Totemo oisiidesunee! Totemo yasashiidesu! Doumo arigatou gozaimasu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
a great recipe as listed - almost. Really did need that little tweak of pineapple juice instead of water though 1/4 cup of ketchup instead of the 1 tbsp, and when I divided the white sugar into half white and half brown, it really added the flavour to make it an amazing 5 star! If you need a recipe for company NOW and don't want to risk trying something that may not be perfect, make the changes listed above (as suggested by others) and I promise you wont go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States