Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I thought this turned out perfect! I used a little less soy, and twice as much ketchup. I also added a tablespoon of honey. This sweet and sour sauce was delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I cut out all the extra sugar. We use it to make pineapple chicken. So we drain the pineapple, use the juice from the pineapple in substitute of the sugar and water in this recipe. It's still extra delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I've made this before and liked it. This time I use a sugar substitue and it was just as good. Also used orange juice instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Gerrells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
With 2 minor changes, I thought this recipe was excellent! Even my son, who never eats the takeout sweet n sour sauce, enjoyed it. I took the soy sauce down to 1 Tbl. and increased the ketchup to about 3 Tbl., and I thought it was perfect! Certainly just as good as the usual takeout Chinese versions, and so simple to make. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
good recipe , i added ginger, carrots and peppers for more flavor...definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have mango juice in the fridge. It is sweeter than pineapple juice and I'm going to try it. Probably going to use Teriyaki instead of soy sauce as it is less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedHotCaed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Needed a quick sauce to go with meatballs in the slow cooker, and I happened to have all of the ingredients for this one so I gave it a whirl... very glad I did! The house smelled amazing the whole time they were cooking and it tasted just like, well, sweet and sour sauce! Thanks for sharing this recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesskrystal4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Not bad at all.... First time making it and was great!!!!!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is simple to make and so yummy! So much better than any store-bought sauce. I will be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I was looking for a sweet and sour recipe that wasn't like the fake tasting stuff at fast food places. I can taste the dye and preservatives in those! This recipe, as it is written, is just sweet enough to enjoy... but without the problem of overpowering the flavors of whatever it is you want to pair this with. It is easy enough to make for me to toss together when popping frozen chicken nuggets in the oven for my kids, but tasty enough to put on top of my recipes that are more suitable for the adult palette. Home run on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States