Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Great, I loved it. It was so quick and easy to make, tasted great, and stored well in the fridge. The only change was to gradually stir in the cornstarch to avoid lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
We eat sweet and sour sauce over tofu with vegetables a lot. I like to try new sweet and sour sauces. We had this one tonight. This is a good one. It's a little plain. Simplicity is a good thing in this case though. I made a double batch and refrigerated more than half. We look forward to having it again soon. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I guess the thought of Ketchup in a sweet and sour sauce made me almost pass this up! GLAD I MADE IT!!! Follwed exactly but did not have the soy sauce..I used Worchester Sauce and it was FANTASTIC!!! Make it..Taste just like you would get out at chinese rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this sauce for sweet and sour chicken. cubed chicken breast after breast were almost done I added the sauce and let it simmer for a couple of minutes. It was delicious I did make some changes to the sauce. Instead of water I opened a can of pineapple and used the juice. Also added the cornstarch at the end. Next time I will use brown sugar as other suggestion to add more color to it. Will be making sweet n sour chicken for a birthday party will come back and add my review on my guest comments....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I thought this turned out perfect! I used a little less soy, and twice as much ketchup. I also added a tablespoon of honey. This sweet and sour sauce was delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I cut out all the extra sugar. We use it to make pineapple chicken. So we drain the pineapple, use the juice from the pineapple in substitute of the sugar and water in this recipe. It's still extra delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I've made this before and liked it. This time I use a sugar substitue and it was just as good. Also used orange juice instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNBill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
With 2 minor changes, I thought this recipe was excellent! Even my son, who never eats the takeout sweet n sour sauce, enjoyed it. I took the soy sauce down to 1 Tbl. and increased the ketchup to about 3 Tbl., and I thought it was perfect! Certainly just as good as the usual takeout Chinese versions, and so simple to make. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
good recipe , i added ginger, carrots and peppers for more flavor...definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have mango juice in the fridge. It is sweeter than pineapple juice and I'm going to try it. Probably going to use Teriyaki instead of soy sauce as it is less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedHotCaed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States