Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The first time I used this recipe it was because I forgot to buy sweet and sour sauce. After I tasted it, I have never again bought sweet and sour sauce. I like that it is made from staples in my kitchen and the flavor is wonderful. My grandma is half Chinese and I have a Japanese aunt, so I grew up eating more Asian food than American food. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Very good, but a nutritional dud...a "sometimes food".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was really average. Had to keep adding different quantities and still ended up not too flash. Was a bit flavourless, not really what I was expecting at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
It tasted good. Will add more ketchup and less soy sauce for a lighter color next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Quick, easy, delicious! I also added some fresh cut pineapples, fresh onions & some bell peppers...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Great, I loved it. It was so quick and easy to make, tasted great, and stored well in the fridge. The only change was to gradually stir in the cornstarch to avoid lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
We eat sweet and sour sauce over tofu with vegetables a lot. I like to try new sweet and sour sauces. We had this one tonight. This is a good one. It's a little plain. Simplicity is a good thing in this case though. I made a double batch and refrigerated more than half. We look forward to having it again soon. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I guess the thought of Ketchup in a sweet and sour sauce made me almost pass this up! GLAD I MADE IT!!! Follwed exactly but did not have the soy sauce..I used Worchester Sauce and it was FANTASTIC!!! Make it..Taste just like you would get out at chinese rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this sauce for sweet and sour chicken. cubed chicken breast after breast were almost done I added the sauce and let it simmer for a couple of minutes. It was delicious I did make some changes to the sauce. Instead of water I opened a can of pineapple and used the juice. Also added the cornstarch at the end. Next time I will use brown sugar as other suggestion to add more color to it. Will be making sweet n sour chicken for a birthday party will come back and add my review on my guest comments....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States