Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Trying this tonight!!!Thanx for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I needed a quick recipe to go with my crab Rangoon recipe and rice. This was it! I cooked it exactly as is and let my husband try it seeing as he is the Asian cuisine expert in our family. He wanted it a tiny bit sweeter so I added 2 more tablespoons sugar and brought it back to a boil just long enough to melt the sugar. It was perfect for him them. I will be making this from now on. No more store bought sauce for us! My mind is wild with all the possibilities for using this sauce. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Made with no variations, it is very good and my favorite part is that it's not that nasty pink color you get at most Chinese restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SH0NI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I made mine with brown sugar instead of white, and apple cider vinegar instead of white. If I have a can of pineapples, I use the juice instead of water and it comes out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg Cates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This was the best. Just as good as Chinese place. I added onions, red peppers and pork. Made egg drop soup go with an rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I really love this recipe! I have an old sweet and sour sauce recipe that was way too sweet and had a lot more ketchup. The above recipe is so much better and not too sweet. Perfect! It will be my new go to recipe for s&s sauce. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I rarely eat sweet and sour sauce, but tonight I had fixed a sub-par pineapple chicken dish that needed more sauce. I didn't have any more pineapple, so that is why I chose this particular recipe. It was good, and I certainly would fix it again mainly because it uses pantry staples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The first time I used this recipe it was because I forgot to buy sweet and sour sauce. After I tasted it, I have never again bought sweet and sour sauce. I like that it is made from staples in my kitchen and the flavor is wonderful. My grandma is half Chinese and I have a Japanese aunt, so I grew up eating more Asian food than American food. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Very good, but a nutritional dud...a "sometimes food".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was really average. Had to keep adding different quantities and still ended up not too flash. Was a bit flavourless, not really what I was expecting at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States