Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Stir-fried chopped chicken breast tenders, onion, yellow pepper, red pepper, homegrown zucchini & fresh pineapple. Served it over steamed Jasmine rice and topped with homemade sweet and sour sauce. I changed the sauce a little bit but not significantly... I used 1/4 brown sugar and 1/2 cup white, I used leftover chicken broth I had in my fridge that needed using instead of water and I used 1/4 cup ketchup upon another reviewers recommendation. Was strong but mellowed a little once served over the dish. Pretty yummy. It reminded me a lot of Kikoman's bottled sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this sauce to put over turkey meatballs. It was so easy and super yummy! Great as a dipping sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was aweful! Followed the recipe to a T and it was too salty from the soy sauce. Tasted nothing like sweet and sour sauce and will be looking for something better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hilleri
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Really good recipe to use as a base, I spiced it up with adding 1/2 tablespoon of crushed red peppers and powdered ginger, gave it really good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and will never buy sweet and sour sauce from a store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
this is a good recipe made my chicken delicious we could not get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Very tasty and easy to make. Poured it over pork roast. Even dipped the potato pancakes in it. Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
We made it just as directed, but felt it was too runny and had a strong soy sauce flavor. However, doubling the catsup & corn starch and adding about 1/4 tsp of ginger powder and garlic powder turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Trying this tonight!!!Thanx for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I needed a quick recipe to go with my crab Rangoon recipe and rice. This was it! I cooked it exactly as is and let my husband try it seeing as he is the Asian cuisine expert in our family. He wanted it a tiny bit sweeter so I added 2 more tablespoons sugar and brought it back to a boil just long enough to melt the sugar. It was perfect for him them. I will be making this from now on. No more store bought sauce for us! My mind is wild with all the possibilities for using this sauce. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States