Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Quick, Easy, and Good! 5 stars all the way. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Better than any restaurant! I put it on Shrimp Tempura and also on Meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DemonGoddess
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
A bit too sweet and I already used less sugar than the recipe called for. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar 1/3 cup white sugar. 1/2 cup pineapple juice 1/4 cup of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I've never made a sauce before so I probably did something wrong. It was disgusting! I don't know what happened, but mine turned more sour than sweet, even with extra honey. I think I'll stick to store bought sauce rather than trying to make my own ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reecancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This is a wonderful and versatile recipe that I made as written. I really like that it doesn't have that alarming colour that sweet and sour sauce has in restaurants. I used it with some veggie "meatballs" over brown rice with steamed green beans on the side. It was delicious, and a little goes a long way because it is so flavourful. I am going to freeze some so that I can have it on hand for a quick flavour hit to tofu, noodles, veggie stir fry, spring rolls ... The possibilities are endless. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
It always amazes me, when I see hundreds of reviews, that have been "tweeked" "added to" "subtracted from" and/or "substituted with". This is not a review people, it is using the information you were given, and then sharing your own recipe. I gave this recipe 5 STARS, mainly because I cook/stir fry a lot of Asian recipes, couldn't find my recipe for the sauce I use in my sweet and sour chicken, and needed a quick replacement. This recipe was delicious, just the way it was offered. Just Sayin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Delicious! I added it to my Johnsonville Apple Chicken Sausage Sweet and Sour Recipe. A definite keeper since I had all of the required ingredients on hand and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is very good. It's not like sweet and sour sauces I've had before because it tastes more barbecue-ish, but we did enjoy it and we will make it again. Very easy to make and toss in cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I just made this and it is WONDERFUL! I will never buy store bought S&S again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I love this recipe. It's quite similar to the older style of s & s sauce that was a standard in US chinese restaurants in the 50's and 60's. I prefer it to the neon red overly sweet sauces used today. It's a bit pungent for some due to the vinegar. If you don't like it that way, add pinapple juice or switch the white to brown sugar as suggested in an earlier review. This will completely change the character of the sauce however so you might as well make the modern red sauce if you like it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States