Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is very good. It's not like sweet and sour sauces I've had before because it tastes more barbecue-ish, but we did enjoy it and we will make it again. Very easy to make and toss in cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I just made this and it is WONDERFUL! I will never buy store bought S&S again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I love this recipe. It's quite similar to the older style of s & s sauce that was a standard in US chinese restaurants in the 50's and 60's. I prefer it to the neon red overly sweet sauces used today. It's a bit pungent for some due to the vinegar. If you don't like it that way, add pinapple juice or switch the white to brown sugar as suggested in an earlier review. This will completely change the character of the sauce however so you might as well make the modern red sauce if you like it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iGreenSodaPop
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Delicious! I made it as written and served it with "Cindi's Egg Rolls". Perfect and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iGreenSodaPop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Stir-fried chopped chicken breast tenders, onion, yellow pepper, red pepper, homegrown zucchini & fresh pineapple. Served it over steamed Jasmine rice and topped with homemade sweet and sour sauce. I changed the sauce a little bit but not significantly... I used 1/4 brown sugar and 1/2 cup white, I used leftover chicken broth I had in my fridge that needed using instead of water and I used 1/4 cup ketchup upon another reviewers recommendation. Was strong but mellowed a little once served over the dish. Pretty yummy. It reminded me a lot of Kikoman's bottled sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made this sauce to put over turkey meatballs. It was so easy and super yummy! Great as a dipping sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was aweful! Followed the recipe to a T and it was too salty from the soy sauce. Tasted nothing like sweet and sour sauce and will be looking for something better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hilleri
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Really good recipe to use as a base, I spiced it up with adding 1/2 tablespoon of crushed red peppers and powdered ginger, gave it really good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and will never buy sweet and sour sauce from a store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
this is a good recipe made my chicken delicious we could not get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States