Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is good and easy. I like to tweek recipes so I have made this as a sauce in stir fry. Some additions: crushed garlic, lemon juice, Cheyenne pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is my go-to S&S sauce. I am super picky and it is delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My fussy hubby loves restaurant sweet & sour sauce, and he was quite satisfied with this homemade version. I made it as written and added it to a stir fry to coat everything before serving. Mr. Picky-Picky had thirds, so I know it was a supreme hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I have made this twice and it is so easy and so tasty. This second time I had some leftover pineapple juice & used it in place of the water. So easy, quick and SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Thank you! It's a wonderful sauce. I also tried it with the orange peel and juice of one large Orange, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This makes a good standard sweet & sour sauce. We used it on chicken and broccoli over rice and it was quite delicious. We will try it next time with half and half water to vinegar to make it a little more sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larhanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Turned out really good. I used the two tablespoons of flour with a bit of water (think/thick consistency) and added one tablespoon of honey. Just sampled the flavor, can't wait for dinner. Never realized it would be so easy and that I would have all ingredients in the cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I thought I had some sauce in the fridge but found out I was out when the chicken strips went into the oven. I whipped this up and it was ready before the strips finished cooking. I followed suggestions from SHELS77 except I didn't have any pineapple juice. I almost wish I hadn't put in quite that much ketchup and I used cornstarch instead of flour. I would make this again, it's a qreat, inexpensive alternative. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yen Nguyen
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Like other reviewers, I changed the recipe a bit just because I can. :) I substituted some of the white sugar with brown sugar (about 1/3 of the measurement). I also used half white vinegar and half rice vinegar. I increased the amount of ketchup by a ton. I didn't add the cornstarch but I did mixed a bit of flour with water and gradually added that to the mixture while it was boiling on the stove. I liked it and ate it with sausage and rice but then again, I rarely eat sweet and sour sauce so I don't think I'm a good judge at it. To me, it turned out exactly what its name is--sweet and sour. Yummy. Next time though, I think I will make it a bit more sour and add a sour liquid instead of water to the mixture; maybe orange or pineapple or lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yen Nguyen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Simple and yummy, worked perfect with pineapple, onion, and bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States