Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I know other reviewers downgraded this recipe because of all the substitutions people used when they made this sauce. I gave this recipe five stars for this very same reason. There aren't too many recipes around that you can mix up like this and receive satisfactory results. For instance, I didn't have pineapple juice so I used 1/3 cup of peach juice and 1/3 cup of water. I also varied my sugars using 1/4 cup each of brown sugar, white sugar and honey. I also used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. Lastly, I took the advice of other reviewers and decreased my soy sauce to 1/8th cup. This sauce turned out really good, far better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great recipe... just altered the soy to half of the amount and it's absolutely dynamite for my taste buds!!! Great, simple recipe!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
i add pineapple chunks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I used these measurements and adjustments to make a small batch... 1 TBS brown sugar, 2 TBS white sugar, 1 TBS ketchup, 1 TBS soy sauce, about 2 TBS crushed pineapple(thawed frozen pineapple-about 1/4 cup- that I puréed-leaving some chunks- in the food processor) about 2 tsp white vinegar, and I left the cornstarch and water out, because I didn't want the sauce to be a thick consistency from the cornstarch, and didn't want the water to make the sauce bland. Really really good! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xjsbellamias13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
It really did taste like sweet and sour. liked it but wasn't quite the perfect match for me. Will make again if I need some. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Super good and super easy. Taste like the variety you buy in the jar at the grocery store, only cheaper and tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The ketchup and vinegar was just gross. The feedback was NEVER AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Quick, Easy, and Good! 5 stars all the way. Made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Better than any restaurant! I put it on Shrimp Tempura and also on Meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States