Sweet and Sour Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I have made this twice and it is so easy and so tasty. This second time I had some leftover pineapple juice & used it in place of the water. So easy, quick and SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Nag-Ca Thank you! It's a wonderful sauce. I also tried it with the orange peel and juice of one large Orange, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This makes a good standard sweet & sour sauce. We used it on chicken and broccoli over rice and it was quite delicious. We will try it next time with half and half water to vinegar to make it a little more sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larhanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Turned out really good. I used the two tablespoons of flour with a bit of water (think/thick consistency) and added one tablespoon of honey. Just sampled the flavor, can't wait for dinner. Never realized it would be so easy and that I would have all ingredients in the cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I thought I had some sauce in the fridge but found out I was out when the chicken strips went into the oven. I whipped this up and it was ready before the strips finished cooking. I followed suggestions from SHELS77 except I didn't have any pineapple juice. I almost wish I hadn't put in quite that much ketchup and I used cornstarch instead of flour. I would make this again, it's a qreat, inexpensive alternative. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honey Clover
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Like other reviewers, I changed the recipe a bit just because I can. :) I substituted some of the white sugar with brown sugar (about 1/3 of the measurement). I also used half white vinegar and half rice vinegar. I increased the amount of ketchup by a ton. I didn't add the cornstarch but I did mixed a bit of flour with water and gradually added that to the mixture while it was boiling on the stove. I liked it and ate it with sausage and rice but then again, I rarely eat sweet and sour sauce so I don't think I'm a good judge at it. To me, it turned out exactly what its name is--sweet and sour. Yummy. Next time though, I think I will make it a bit more sour and add a sour liquid instead of water to the mixture; maybe orange or pineapple or lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Simple and yummy, worked perfect with pineapple, onion, and bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Excellent! Sweet but not too sweet; just the right thickness; not too heavy. Made just the right amount for approx 1.5 pounds of cut up chicken breast mixed with the same amount of Asian stir-fry vegetables. Just cooked the chicken and the vegetables, put them together in a bowl, and poured this sauce over the top! After a good stir, served it up over fresh, hot rice. What an awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This recipe is AWESOME!!! I love it and make this sauce weekly!!!Definitely a 5 STAR from me!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I know other reviewers downgraded this recipe because of all the substitutions people used when they made this sauce. I gave this recipe five stars for this very same reason. There aren't too many recipes around that you can mix up like this and receive satisfactory results. For instance, I didn't have pineapple juice so I used 1/3 cup of peach juice and 1/3 cup of water. I also varied my sugars using 1/4 cup each of brown sugar, white sugar and honey. I also used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. Lastly, I took the advice of other reviewers and decreased my soy sauce to 1/8th cup. This sauce turned out really good, far better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States