Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsKatt
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Good, I leave out the caraway seeds, no one in my family will touch them. I also used bacon grease instead of butter and left the bacon pieces in. I also don't boil the cabbage, I just let it cook in the vinegar/sugar mixture until crisp tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I took this to a Legion pot luck dinner. A German couple who attended gave this a 5 star rating. I thought it had just the right blend of all of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saxonburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This was very tasty. Will definitly make again. I've been searching for a good sweet red cabbage recipe and have found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I cooked it in slow cooker until desired doneness of cabbage. I also used spiced apple cider and some water. Adjust sugar and vinegar to taste. I served it with a pot roast and my family thought it was the best ever and wanted the recipe. Anniebgood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Very good, just the right amount of tanginess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Quick, easy and tasty. Goes great with a roast and mashed potatoes. I used green cabbage instead of red and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Yummy side! The butter got chunky after a day in the fridge, but otherwise this recipe is A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Not quite zesty enough for my taste but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Great recipe! I used apple cider vinegar and a little less brown sugar(personal preference). I threw everything in the slow cooker and cooked on low 3 hours. I really enjoyed the caraway in this. I served this as a side for Herb Dumpling Pork Chops also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Very good and easy; I threw all the ingredients in a crockpot and cooked for 4 hours with a couple of changes: I used Apple Cider Vinegar and left out the caraway seeds. Next time I would replace the water with at least 1/2 apple juice and increase the vinegar as I like my red cabbage tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States