Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Liked it a lot, a hit at Easter dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My family loved this but I changed a few things...used apple cider vinegar instead of plain vinegar..threw in a 1/4 cup of bacon bits...left out the water and caraway seeds. Chilled it for 30 min....made a great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Yummy side! The butter got chunky after a day in the fridge, but otherwise this recipe is A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Very good and easy; I threw all the ingredients in a crockpot and cooked for 4 hours with a couple of changes: I used Apple Cider Vinegar and left out the caraway seeds. Next time I would replace the water with at least 1/2 apple juice and increase the vinegar as I like my red cabbage tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Loved the recipe. decided I wanted something sweet and tangy to go with my hot wings and started looking for a simple sweet and sour cabbage recipe. I used green cabbage since it is what I had. and I melted the butter and brown sugar in the pan then added my cabbage and then poured in the vinegar. I didnt like the idea of boiling it. It turned out fabulous I could just sit with a fork and eat just cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I liked the flavor that the carraway seeds gave to the cabbage. I used chicken broth instead of water and cider vinegar. Next time I'm going to add a chopped apple if I have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I merged this recipe with the Danish red cabbage recipe that popped up using currant jelly instead of sugar and I also used Apple Cider Vinegar, more in keeping with the pork roast and applesauce I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauriePat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Love the basic recipe. I use sucralose instead of sugar and omit the butter. Tastes great and is figure friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryOrlando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I cooked it in slow cooker until desired doneness of cabbage. I also used spiced apple cider and some water. Adjust sugar and vinegar to taste. I served it with a pot roast and my family thought it was the best ever and wanted the recipe. Anniebgood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States