Sweet and Sour Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
(Serve on hot cooked rice) Make rice and cut up everything before you strart. Mixing soy sauce and cornstarch doesn't work to coat the pork instead marinate the pork in 1/2 cup soy sauce, then just dredge in 1/2 cup cornstarch or enough to coat all the meat lightly and fry in enough hot oil to get a nice crisp coating, turn in pan to fry evenly - No water added. Remove the cooked meat, or move to side of wok or large skillet and add oil to the pan and cook the veggies, (I like to parboil the carrots just to soften a little, drain and add to fry pan - then add pineapple and sauce. You can make your own sauce by mixing the following: The reserved pineapple juice, 1/3 c. sugar 1/3 c. ketchup and 1/3 c. white or cider vinegar, 4 Tb soy sauce and 1 Tb cornstarch - only add a little water if needed.Hint: Sharp kitchen shears work great for cutting pork loin meat into small cubes or strips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This was very very good! I didn't have enough sweet and sour sauce on hand, so I added some pineapple juice to what I had to make a cup. I cut baby carrotts in matchstick pieces (it was all I had on hand) and I omitted the green peppers because I didn't have any. I served with Jasmine rice. Even my very picky 7 year old ate this! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
great recipe. Fast and tasty. With vegies it makes a complete meal or I had a side dish of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
My husband made this for the two of us and our three children tonight. Everyone agreed that it was a delicious recipe! It was very easy and quick to prepare, and our three picky eaters(the youngest of which claims to despise sweet and sour anything!) all cleaned their plates! Can't ask for more than that! Served over white rice, this recipe is a keeper for sure! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Very easy to prepare. My family really loved this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I really loved this quick and simple recipe. I served it with jasmine rice and my husband loved it. I used fresh pineapple because I had it on hand.When I buy a boneless pork loin, I cut part of it in chunks for dishes such as this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was fantastic. Very quick and easy meal served over white rice makes a complete dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Easy to prepare. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Fantastic ! So easy and full of flavor. Served Coconut rice with it. Delicious ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
made this dish exactly as called for and it was fantastic. will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States