Sweet and Sour Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
A very tasty meal. The only change I made was to saute some carrot, onion, and Green pepper after removing the pork and before adding the pineapple--reserving the veg, adding back in once the fruit was carmelized. I made this dinner for two, and the amount of sauce was adequate. You may wish to increase the sauce ingredients for four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Thank you a million times! I am the new hero in the house being able to provide such a LOVED new dish. I wouldnt change a thing in this recipe- EXCELLENT EXCELLENT- tender, tangy, incredible- this is now going to be a part of the monthly rotation!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DTRUBELA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
We LOVED this!! I didn't add all the hot sauce, and for my photo I forgot to put the green onion tops on (sorry---it would have looked so much better). I served this with sticky rice (calrose) and artichokes. We all pronounced this a KEEPER! Thanks once again, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
A good sweet and sour recipe...liked the sauce. It was lighter, thinner than the thick type which is customary to sweet and sour sauce. A nice change. I added some other vegetables (carrots, celery, green pepper) to the blend to resemble the traditional sweet and sour I'm used to having. I also cubed the pork. I meant to sprinkle with sesame seeds at the end, but forgot. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly except for pounding the meat. I just cut small 1 inch medallions and found this to work out just fine. This dish is pretty spicy hot yet so full of flavor I didn't mind the heat. I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this twice - the sauce was wonderful, but the meat was not quite so. First, unless something was missing from the directions, this resulted in just 4 large pieces of pork, not many smaller cubes of it. The second time I made this, I cut up the pork, and liked it a lot more that way. I made a mistake the second time since I bought a can of crushed pineapple instead of pineapple chunks - chunks are definitely the way to go here. I'm not a good judge of what the "Chinese take-out classic" version of this dish is, but something still seemed missing here. It was very good, just not 5-star, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this tonight for supper and it turned out very tasty! I didn't have all of the exact ingredients on hand so I had to ad lib a bit. Like other reviewers had suggested, I cubed the pork and pan fried it. I also sautéed some onions, carrots and green pepper with the pineapple. Then for the spice and tang I added a few dashes of Franks red hot sauce and about 1 tsp of red curry paste as I did not have any hot chili sauce on hand or red pepper flakes. Served it over rice and both me and my husband really enjoyed this dish and both agreed this recipe is a definite keeper! Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Loved it! Made it twice now. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I used the crockpot and liked it even more. You just need to made extra sauce to add on at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by papasqrt
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
The family enjoyed this. We added a little corn starch to thicken up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Simple & great tasting, even better then local Chinese restaurant's version. Do not think will ever order again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Glazed Peaches

See how to make a simple pan sauce for roasted pork with glazed peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States