Sweet and Sour Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Really good! This is a keeper with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Wow! We really enjoyed this! The meat was very moist and the sauce very flavorful! I too, wanted to grill this. I started sautéing the pineapple in a bit of butter and when it was golden, I added the rest of the ingredients and reduced it on the stove. I used an immersion blender once it had reduced to smooth it out a bit. While I didn't use nearly half the hot sauce and pepper flakes, it was perfect for us and it can be customized to an individual "heat to sweet" liking. Thanks, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was quite good, although I changed it quite a bit. We wanted to grill this, so I made the sauce separately. I cut the Sriracha sauce in half and skipped the red pepper flakes and we thought the heat level was perfect. After simmering, I thickened it slightly with a cornstarch/water slurry. Since I wanted to use fresh pineapple, I used about 1/3 cup of pineapple juice I had in the freezer for the sauce. Hubs grilled the tenderloin whole, brushing it with some of the sauce toward the end of the cooking time. We also grilled the pineapple. Additional sauce was drizzled on when plating. The only change I would make next time is to run my emersion blender through the sauce to puree the chunks of onion, just for a more pleasing appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Added 6 small sweet chili peppers. Increased the garlic about 50%. Reduced the red pepper flakes because the Sriracha sauce that I have on hand is very hot. Used a lot of fresh green scallions from my garden. It was still rather hot. However, my wife , who is spice sensitive, loved it. This recipe will become a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This was the BOMB! My husband love Chinese and this have the fast food restaurant beat. This will be a quick go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was a nice healthier alternative to fried sweet and sour pork. We really liked the flavor, but, it didn't get quite thick enough to make a sticky glaze on the pork. I added a small cornstarch slurry and it thickened up perfectly. I will make again, but, next time try with chicken. I am sure it will be wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I followed as directed with just a couple exceptions. I doubled the recipe and used an entire package of pork tenderloins (two tenderloins) and cubed them. I also had to add some green bell pepper because it just seems sweet and sour should have it. I think I would tweak it further if I was to make it again but it went over well with my boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Good recipe. I like to use it as the main ingredient in tacos rather than serving over rice. I used slightly less ketchup than it called for and white onions instead of scallions (all I had). I also cut the pork into more than four pieces - I sliced it about 1/2 - 1 inch thick then pounded it. My only other change was to add the onions to the pan first, then add the garlic (I did not mix it into the sauce originally), then add the pineapple and followed the rest as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this twice - the sauce was wonderful, but the meat was not quite so. First, unless something was missing from the directions, this resulted in just 4 large pieces of pork, not many smaller cubes of it. The second time I made this, I cut up the pork, and liked it a lot more that way. I made a mistake the second time since I bought a can of crushed pineapple instead of pineapple chunks - chunks are definitely the way to go here. I'm not a good judge of what the "Chinese take-out classic" version of this dish is, but something still seemed missing here. It was very good, just not 5-star, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
We really loved this over brown rice. Doubled the recipe to make 6 lunches for me and the husband - there was a good amount of sauce so I followed the recipe exactly but went easy on the brown sugar. I didn't see when in the instructions to cut the pork tenderloin into smaller pieces? We did after the sauce was made before throwing it all over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Glazed Peaches

See how to make a simple pan sauce for roasted pork with glazed peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States