Sweet and Sour Pork Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
I was thrilled to find a good recipe for ground pork! This was so delicious! Instead of using jarred sweet and sour sauce, I used the Sweet & Sour Sauce II recipe on this site. The combination was perfection! Tastes exactly like take out chinese! Thanks so much Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I altered the recipe a bit and made meatballs instead of patties, using the same ingredients except I used 3/4 cup bread crumbs. I baked them at 350 for 20 min. and then let them simmer in a pot with sweet & sour sauce and a little soy sauce. These were great. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Really, really good. I only gave 4 stars because I did some changes. I baked them in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes as meatballs. I added a 1/4 tsp of chinese five spice a tsp of salt 1 tsp of ketchup 1tsp of mustard and 1 tsp of worcestershire sauce. These were unbelievable I know the mustard and ketchup sounds weird but they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I tried this recipe for ground beef since that was what I had on hand and we very rarely have ground pork in the house. I also combined tips I followed from several reviewers and adapted my recipe as follows: I made meatballs, placed them on an ungreased nonstick cookie sheet and baked them for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. I added 1 tsp each of ketchup, dijon mustard and worcestershire, 1/4 tsp each of Chinese spice and ground ginger, and added some black pepper. But I think the black pepper was overwhelming. I'll omit it next time. The recommendation for coordinating this with the Sweet and Sour Sauce II recipe was a good one. That's what I used to go with the meatballs and served over white rice. Both my toddlers enjoyed this. DH loved it. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
We loved this recipe! I wasn't sure about the combination of pork patties and sweet & sour sauce but it was fantastic. The only change I made was using 1/2 of plain breadcrumbs and 1/2 of Italian-style breadcrumbs (I ran out of the plain). I also took other reviewer's suggestions and made the sweet & sour sauce II and we think it's better than most bottled sweet & sour sauce. We couldn't believe how great the combination was. Served with wild-rice and stir-fried broccoli made it a wonderful meal. Thanks Linda for a great post! It will become a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I just received this recipe and read through it. I haven't made them yet, but I think when I do I will make them into little meatballs and serve them as an appetizer, kept warm in my slowcooker! Sounds very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ovenmitt2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Pretty good but not outstanding. Needs quite a lot more seasoning, and the patties didn't hold together very well. Husband wasn't terribly keen on the parsley with the sweet and sour sauce. Nice for a change but I won't be making them again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This was very good, the sweet and sour sauce goes well with rice. A nice change and the red pepper flakes gives it a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I also formed them into meatballs and they were amazing. I could have eating the whole batch by myself. Will definetely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Really tasty I added some ginger and soya sauce to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delfzyl, Groningen, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States