Sweet and Sour Pork I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is the best recipe I've every found on AR. Absolutely perfect every time. I've given it to all of my friends and they agree; it's wonderful! Thank you sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This recipe was amazing!! We made it last night and couldn't get over how well it turned out...better than takeout by a mile! Will definitely be making again. I followed most of the recipe exactly except that we also added in broccoli (we love tons of veggies). For the pork, however, we made some changes. First of all, we used leftover pork tenderloin cut up into cubes. Instead of breading and frying it the way they do in the recipe, I used another technique that I use for other dishes as well, its called 'velveting'. You marinate the pork cubes in a mixture of 1 beaten egg, 1 TBSP cornstarch, 1 TBSP cooking sherry or beer, 2 TSP sesame oil, and 1/2 TSP salt. Cover and put in the fridge for at least 1 hour. Before you are ready to cook, take the pork cubes out, drain the marinade, and dust in more cornstarch. Then fry until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was the 2nd recipe that I have tried since finding the site in the last 2 days which is pretty good for someone that hates cooking. I was a little skeptical when making the sauce as it was a kind of pink color and I thought this is so runny its going to look and taste awful, but, after following the directions all I can say is this was bloody lovely and even my hubby who hates sweet things enjoyed it. I will definitely make this again. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would, so thanks for sharing the recipe, it was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
The pork is excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I have to admit I used this recipe simply for the sauce which was fantastic! I simply dredged the pork in arrowroot flour, and chopped up a mixture of vegetables I had on hand. I made the sauce the way it was written except for substituting rice vinegar for the white vinegar, and leaving out the salt. Everyone loved it and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonia.st

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I tried it as written the first time, and did not like the tomato in it. So now I just add an extra pepper and keep the recipe as is! Family favorite by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This came out absoutely amazing! I didnt have two things the recipe called for. A red chile pepper and tapioca starch. I simpy substituted with crushed red pepper flakes and cornstarch. Also, I only used about 2Tbs of sugar and I think next time I'll only use 1. You get enough sweetness from the pineapple and plum sauce. I wasnt sure how this would come out but it was super delicious. Will definitely be making this again. As other reviews stated the recipe skips the part where you add the egg. I added it to the salt, baking soda, water mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
A keeper! Used cornstarch instead of tapioca flour; and used jalapeño instead of the chill pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Tasty. I can never get the breading to look pretty, though. Thankfully the sauce covers it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deathmagus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I am sorry, I did not see where the gg in the recipe comes into play. It is in the ingredients but not the directions. It takes about 2 hours to make unless you are set up as a restaurant. It takes 4 times the flour and 8 times the oil. You can't use 1/4 cup of flour to coat 1 pound of cut up meat, perhaps if it was not cut up 1/4 cup would be enough but then it would be a pork roast. After making the adjustments it did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States