Sweet and Sour Pork I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
We really liked this recipe. Even my picky teenager came back for seconds! I totally skipped dipping the pork in the egg and dredging it - still turned out fantastic and crip! Not big on green peppers, so I chopped them up fine. Except for the flavor they added, no one really noticed they were there... For those of you who looked for "Tapioca Starch" and failed - look for "Tapioca Flour" instead. It is actually one and the same! Bob's Red Mill is the brand I came up with and it is found in most of your health food aisle of your grocery store. The Tapioca Starch/Flour adds an additional slight sweetness to the recipe. You can substitute corn starch for this tho'. Use 1-Tbsp corn starch to every 2-Tbsp Tapioca Starch/Flour. If you have problems finding "Plum Sauce", you can usually find that in the Asian aisle of your grocery store by the other speciality sauces they offer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILREDCV

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This is a fantastic recipe and as I'm Singaporean, I can tell you that it's certainly authentic! I think one step was missed out, as pointed out by another reviewer - after the water, salt and baking soda mix, dip the pork pieces in beaten egg before drenching in tapioca flour (which, incidentally, is easy to find and fairly cheap in Singapore). The oil will turn cloudy and blacken while deep-frying and I had to change the oil in the wok several times. Oh, and I also recommend halving the amount of plum sauce and vinegar,as well as adding more sugar, as I personally found the sauce a bit too sour/tangy. If you don't have plum sauce, you could use the pineapple juice in the can (if you're using canned pineapples).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This was really great, and I am one who makes a lot of Asian food. Don't worry if you don't have tapioca starch, regular cornstarch (or sweet rice flour) works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I made this several days ago and the family is already asking for a repeat! I dredged the meat in corn starch rather than tapioca, and I omitted the tomatoes. Thank you for sharing this one Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Delicious recipe and easily adjustable to what you have on hand. I think you are supposed to beat the egg into the salt, soda, water mixture-then put the pork to it and then drop it in the cornstarch or flour. Don't worry if you don't have tapioca FLOUR, use cornstarch or all-purpose flour (do NOT use regular TAPIOCA it is for making pudding or thickening pies)! I used pork sirloin chops cubed-then fried them til well browned over medium,not high, adjusting the heat accordingly to avoid burning, this takes about 20-30 minutes depending on your heat etc. To make sure they are done cut open one of the larger pieces and check it. I used only pinapple chunks, thinly sliced carrot, and green bell pepper& yellow onion cut in a one inch dice.For extra zip I added some pepper. I did not add tomato, red chili pepper or plum sauce, because I didn't have it on hand and the recipe turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This turned out to be really good. I didn’t have any “tapioca starch” (I hear they have some in Singapore, but I couldn’t afford to fly there) so I used corn starch instead. I also beat an egg and dipped the pork pieces into it before breading, even though the recipe left this step out. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. I’m giving it 5 stars because it really is that good. Next time I will add some crushed red pepper, and use 2 red chili peppers instead of one because I like the heat. Then I’ll give it 6 stars. This was easy to prepare, and tasted great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
total and absolute yumminess!!! just tried it tonight and was glad I made double. This is definately a 5 star or more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Wonderful dish, but it involves a lot of care! I used flour instead of starch (didn't have any handy at the time)... keep your skillet clean, flour will brown and burn after a while, giving your dish a blackish tone. Also, drain the excess oil and burnt flour before you add the vegetables, I don't recommend simply using the same skillet right out... Cut the fat out of the pork... it tastes terrible when cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
The dish is very tasty and you should get a award for this because it's excellent and eveyone loves it. Thanks, Jennifer!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
We love this recipe! It was quick & easy to prepare and the sauce is delicious. I didn't have plum sauce so I used the syrup/juice from the pineapple instead. I first made this recipe several years ago. Now, I double the sauce component and use dried red pepper flakes in place of the whole pepper and omit the tomatoes. The pepper flakes give it a nice zing, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States