Sweet and Sour Pork I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
My husband loved this dish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHONDA JAHN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
Do make this recipe. It's absolutely great using chicken or pork and any almost any vegetable medley. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devonmaui

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
Not bad your average Sweet and sour recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
I couldn't find tapioca starch so I used tapioca from Minute Rice. The texture was very strange, very "bumpy" for lack of a better word, and chewy. The sauce was wonderful, however. Is tapoica starch something that asian stores carry? The extensive ethnic food section at my favorite grocery store didn't have it...nevertheless, I served these with Crab Rangoon II and it was great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. We loved it. I used fresh pineapple and homemade spicy plum sauce and it was really tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
My husband and I found this recipe to be very tasty, and I would definately make it again. I think next time though I will cut back on the amount of salt used in coating mixture. Also, since I was unable to find Tapioca starch, I just used regular flour which worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
We love this recipe! It was quick & easy to prepare and the sauce is delicious. I didn't have plum sauce so I used the syrup/juice from the pineapple instead. I first made this recipe several years ago. Now, I double the sauce component and use dried red pepper flakes in place of the whole pepper and omit the tomatoes. The pepper flakes give it a nice zing, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I made this several days ago and the family is already asking for a repeat! I dredged the meat in corn starch rather than tapioca, and I omitted the tomatoes. Thank you for sharing this one Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Wonderful dish, but it involves a lot of care! I used flour instead of starch (didn't have any handy at the time)... keep your skillet clean, flour will brown and burn after a while, giving your dish a blackish tone. Also, drain the excess oil and burnt flour before you add the vegetables, I don't recommend simply using the same skillet right out... Cut the fat out of the pork... it tastes terrible when cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This was really great, and I am one who makes a lot of Asian food. Don't worry if you don't have tapioca starch, regular cornstarch (or sweet rice flour) works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States