Sweet and Sour Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I used fresh beets instead of canned, just boiled them for about 10 minutes before continuing with recipe. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This recipe was perfect! My neighbor gave me some beets, I baked them at 325 for an hour, let them cool a bit and then used this recipe. I wanted a recipe that didn't need pickling spices, because I didn't have that on hand....this was exactly like grandmas! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I love these! I'm a big fan of pickled beets, but they are expensive in the stores. These are great and I wouldn't change a thing. Since I like them so well, I doubled the recipe. They are really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I also sliced some red onions, very very thin, and added those. Used fresh beets as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Add hard boiled eggs to jar and let set in frig for a couple of days. Really good pickled eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I was looking for something similar to my mother's pickled beets. I had to add more sugar to get the taste I wanted. The cinnamon added a pleasant surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalyn McHart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bakersville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were delicious. I used fresh beets. I will make them again. Don't forget to remove the cloves before serving....I missed one and my brother-in-law got an unpleasant surprise. AFTER MAKING MANY MORE TIMES: I don't use whole cloves, I use about a tsp of powdered cloves. I am asked for this recipe over and over. I always use fresh beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Good recipe, simple ingredients. Just like my mom used to make them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Really good! Nice zing, great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Made this tonight using fresh beets that I had cooked. I used a sugar substitute. Delish! Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States