Sweet and Sour Pickled Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Love these. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Torgerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I really enjoyed these, better than anything you can get from a jar. Excellent on a salad with bey cheese, served with cottage cheese, or with goat cheese and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
So EASY, so DELICIOUS!! I made the recipe before just as it was written and we loved it. I made it again recently, but w/ beets from our garden. I forgot about needing to save the beet broth from cooking them and couldn't as I didn't clean them fully before boiling. Having looked at other recipes that incl orange zest, I got the idea to use 1/2 c orange juice and a splash of water instead. They turned out wonderfully tangy sweet w/ the smell and gentle taste of the orange too. And they are so pretty. I'm giving little jars of them as Christmas gifts; no one will expect this of me so I can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
super easy and tastes great. I did add onion to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I used splenda & fresh beets. They turned out great!!! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
They tasted just like Mom's. The only thing I added was a pinch of allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Tasted really good. The cinnamon gave a real subtle boost in flavor. My daughter who has strong taste buds really enjoyed it. Will do it for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
i just found these to be way too syrupy sweet for my taste, but to each his own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were delicious. I used fresh beets. I will make them again. Don't forget to remove the cloves before serving....I missed one and my brother-in-law got an unpleasant surprise. AFTER MAKING MANY MORE TIMES: I don't use whole cloves, I use about a tsp of powdered cloves. I am asked for this recipe over and over. I always use fresh beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I used nutmeg in place of cloves. These were excellent! Messy but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissMorticia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States