Sweet and Sour Pepper Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
This was REALLY good and very easy! The first time I make a recipe, I normally read all the reviews but then make it exactly as written to get a baseline. However, most of the reviews on this one were so similar, I took a lot of the advice and made some of the changes. I used chicken broth instead of water, brown sugar instead of white, used 3 peppers (red & green), and added ginger. I didn't have any pineapple on hand but would have added that if I did. It would have definitely rounded it out. I should have doubled the sauce ingredients as well since I put in more vegetables than called for. Anyway, this is now a family favorite and will become part of the regular meal plans...in all the many incarnations I can imagine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Wonderful recipe with a nice flavor which is not too sweet. I ended up using what I had on had: 2 pork tenderloins, 1 yellow squash, 1 zucchini, and 1 and a half red bell pepper. I didn't have the onion. I cut the pork into strips and cooked at directed. After removing it from the pan, I added some butter and my vegetables with a couple teaspoons of minced garlic. Stir fried it, and after removing them proceeded to make the sauce. I used a sweet Moscato white wine. I served it over jasmine rice made with chicken broth instead of water. Both my husband and I really liked it. I can't wait to try other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
My kids loved this! Made exactly how it said to and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This recipe is just delicious.....Easy to make and hubby and I enjoyed it. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mywraps

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Took the advice of another review and added pineapple with the juice instead of water. Very tasty!! Comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Amazing, easy, and delicious. Seriously the best sweet and sour pork I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
A+ recipe. I doubled the sauce and substituted white grape juice for the white wine. I drained a can of pineapple chunks in juice and substituted for the water then added a few chunks in the sauce. Definitely will use this recipe again. I might try with chicken and shrimp also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
My family loved this. I didnt use the wine and I added broccoli. Smelled great cooking! I also cooked the pork with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Better than I ever expected! Thank you So much...new recipe in the repeat section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
i didnt have everything the recipe called for ie onions or peppers or white wine i used 3 boneless pork chops cut into chunks and subbed the water for pineapple juice & white wine for chicken broth like others had suggested..my house smelled wonderful while this cooked its a definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States