Sweet and Sour Pepper Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was really good. I did subsitute the white wine and water for chicken stock. Only other thing is I would double or triple the sauce so you have some for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This recipe tastes better than what you would get at a restaurant, is healthier, and is fast to make! I followed substitutions already listed here: added a can of chunk pineapple, subbed pineapple juice for the water, subbed chicken broth for the wine, and subbed brown sugar for white. I also added two matchsticked carrots and served over brown rice with chopped peanuts and green onions. My fiance, who is wary of new things, loved this! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was excellent! I substituted the green bell for red, pineapple juice for the water, and brown sugar for the white. Served over white rice ... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Like nongard1, I think it needed a little more bite - substituting pineapple juice for the water, brown sugar rather than the white, and adding pineapple will all be on my agenda the next time I prepare this...which will not be long from now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This dish was great. My wife and I really enjoyed this. The sauce is truly amazing. I cant wait to try this with shrimp and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T, save a couple of additions - and it was fabulous. We added a few dried chili peppers (we love spicy food) and some leftover bean sprouts, all served over rice noodles - mmmmm! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is the best recipie I have ever found on this website. I used pinapple juice instead of water, added a can of drained pinapple chunks, used red pepper and green pepper and substituted brown sugar for white sugar. Served in on a bed of jasmine rice... I LOVED it, my teenagers loved it, my Asian girlfriend thought it was awesome and her small child loved it.... 5 Stars!!!!!!!! Also bought 2.5 pounds of bone-in loin chops, and cut it up into bite size squares, trimmed the fat and that left about 2 pounds of meat. It was perfect...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Nongard

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This recipe is awesome. Added pineapple like other reviewers have recommended including the juice in place of the water. Also used apple cider vinegar, since I didn't have red on hand. Turned out awesome. Better than my local asian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sagewood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I forgot the garlic and it still came out great! I lightened it up by cutting the oil and butter in half and used sugar substitute, and also doubled the sauce per other reviewer's suggestions. It tasted and looked like it came from a restaurant!!! I also added chunk pineapple (with a little juice) when I added the pork back into the pan. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_LJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I loved this recipe. I made it when a few friends came over and they still bring it up to me and others on how good it was. The only thing I would like to try next time is adding pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States