Sweet and Sour Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I have had this recipe for years and everyone loves it. A couple of tips that have made this even better: bake the loaf in a larger casserole dish and double the sauce recipe - it's the best part! Since the loaf itself is just average, I use 1 lb ground sirloin and 1/2 lb hot italian sausage and I add about 1/2 cup or so of the fancy (thin) shredded sharp cheddar cheese. This has made a fantastic recipe even better. Also, for parties I have made meatballs instead of the loaf, baked them, and then put them in a crock pot with the double sauce recipe - always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Parma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
This is great! I've made it many, many times. My roommate and I both enjoy this at least once a month. I've made a few changes though: I use 3 teaspoons of dried minced onions, add 3 teaspoons of minched garlic and add a 1/2 cup of finely shredded cheddar cheese. Suggestions: When making the sauce add the mustard as the next ingredient after the tomatoe sauce. This will ensure it gets mixed in well. Prior to pouring the sauce over the top of the meatloaf be sure to drain out the fat. I love this recipe, it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Yup ... five stars. Everyone LOVES this comfort meal. Just a couple of tips: after cooking for 40 minutes, drain the fat before adding the glaze, and secondly, cut back a little on the breadcrumbs if you like it a little firmer. The next time, I will try substituting the sugar for Splenda. All in all, this is a def keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I have been making this recipe for the past 34 years and my mother made it before that when I was growing up. The only difference is that we don't use the white sugar at all, we mix the sauce cold and pour it over the meatloaf before baking and cook it all together at one time. Makes for a few less dishes and the taste is excellent. It also freezes well, so if you have a small family you can make the meatloaf, divide it in half, pour the sauce over and freeze. Then all you have to do is thaw and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
What an excellent change for meatloaf! My kids and husband love it! It is very rare that we find a recipe that we all enjoy, but we found this one! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
Very tasty, a nice change from the regular ketchup meatloaf. The meat mixture itself is nothing special, but I loved the sauce. I don't like to cook meatloaf in a loaf pan because it traps the fat, so I cooked on a broiler pan. I based the meat with sauce the last 15 minutes and served the left over sauce with dinner. It was really good. I am already trying to think of other uses for this sauce it was so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I made this exactly as the receipe stated and it was fantastic. My whole family loved it. When I put the sauce on I put a few slits with a knife into the meat and let the sauce really get in. I have added this to my receipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I make this frequently and it's always a big hit. It tastes so good and is very easy. I make this so often that I package 1.5 pound amounts of ground beef just to have on hand for this recipe. I almost always serve with rice and peas. If I remember, I add grated cheddar cheese to the meat mixture. I also use two 8 oz cans of tomato sauce so I don't have to measure out half of a 15 oz can. It works out fine. I put in more dried minced onion than is called for, probably closer to a tablespoon. Very yummy, a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERHYMER
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
My husband said this was the best meatloaf he ever had and I've been trying meatloaf recipes for 17 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
this was de-lish! I didnt have a meatloaf pan so shaped my own and it worked out well-just pieced the meat all over when I poured sauce over it twice while cooking. Made a great sandwich with a slice of cheese on top two days later. Thanks for a greta recipe. PS I added plenty more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States