Sweet and Sour Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I'm a novice cook, and I've had rather limited success with the recipes I've tried, but this one was a hit! The only changes I made were to double the pepper and onion, add a little garlic powder, and I used half the recommended amount of white sugar for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momanem35

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I thought this recipe was GREAT! My husband on the other hand thought it was way to sweet! I will compromise with him next time I make this and make the sauce less sweet. (I'll make this sauce for me on the side, ;-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Delicious! Double the sauce and leave half of it so that people can pour it over their portions at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was sooo good. I was at a loss for dinner one night and found this recipe. I had everything I needed right in my pantry. My family LOVED it, my son, who is quite finicky, wants it again and again. I think the sauce for this would be delicious on pork chops and grilled chicken too. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
WOW! I would give this recipe a 10 if I could. My husband & son-in-law raved about it. It is the best meatloaf I've ever eaten & it makes wonderful sandwiches if there are any leftovers. I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs because that's what I had on hand & I think that added a lot of flavor. But I omitted the salt because of the extra salt in the bread crumbs. I also used freshly chopped onions instead of dried. I doubled the gravy recipe to ladle over the meat & potatoes. This will definitely be showing up on my dinner table at least one a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
My family loves this meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN27HALL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
It was incredibly moist and a nice change from the usual repetoire. Initially, I put the meat in a meatloaf pan and the quantity of meat did not fit - the pan was too small. So as someone suggested, I transfered the meat to a large casserole dish and it was great! Hubby and 1 picky child loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Thanks to whomever said to add the 1/2 packet of onion soup mix that made the meatloaf full of flavor. The meatloaf is great and moist but blah on the sauce. It is tooooooo sweet! I felt like I was eating sugar. I like a sweet and sour flavor but that too me was more sweet. I did eventually end up doctoring it up to make it more edible but next time I think I'll make this meatloaf with the onion soup packet (oh and I used real onions) and just leave off the sauce. I'd rather have the ketchup flavored sauces myself. All in all I'd give it a 4 because the main part of the meal was great! Skip the sauce or cut back on the sugar maybe???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is my second time making this meatloaf.Second time around I made a small change. I used an 8oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 15 oz.1/2 went into the meatloaf and 1/2 went to the sauce.I added maybe an 1/8 of a cup of kethcup in my meatloaf and in the sauce as well. Used about 1/4 cup of fresh minced onion.The ground beef i used only had 4% fat in it so i was really worried it would end up dry.because i added fresh onions and all that ketchup my meatloaf ended up so moist,flavorful and DELICIOUS! I added 3-4 tbs.brown sugar to the sauce and did not add the white. I will continue to make this meatloaf with my alterations. The sauce is great by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
To pack in some nutrition and add flavor and moisture, this is what I do: Use 1/2 lb lean ground beef and 1/2 lb ground pork (Yes that's only 1 lb meat total). Instead of using dried minced onion, add chopped 1/2 medium-large onion. Add 1 cup finely chopped carrots and at least 1/2 cup chopped fresh spinach, and follow recipe as directed. I use a mini-prep electric chopper so the additional prep is simple and fast. The extra veggies actually mellow out the sweet and sour flavor. I never use a loaf pan, but instead I use a 9x13 baking dish and shape it into a loaf about 1 1/2" high. This is excellent over white rice. My whole family, including a very picky toddler, loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States