Sweet and Sour Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I thought this recipe was GREAT! My husband on the other hand thought it was way to sweet! I will compromise with him next time I make this and make the sauce less sweet. (I'll make this sauce for me on the side, ;-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Delicious! Double the sauce and leave half of it so that people can pour it over their portions at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was sooo good. I was at a loss for dinner one night and found this recipe. I had everything I needed right in my pantry. My family LOVED it, my son, who is quite finicky, wants it again and again. I think the sauce for this would be delicious on pork chops and grilled chicken too. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
WOW! I would give this recipe a 10 if I could. My husband & son-in-law raved about it. It is the best meatloaf I've ever eaten & it makes wonderful sandwiches if there are any leftovers. I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs because that's what I had on hand & I think that added a lot of flavor. But I omitted the salt because of the extra salt in the bread crumbs. I also used freshly chopped onions instead of dried. I doubled the gravy recipe to ladle over the meat & potatoes. This will definitely be showing up on my dinner table at least one a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
My family loves this meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN27HALL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
It was incredibly moist and a nice change from the usual repetoire. Initially, I put the meat in a meatloaf pan and the quantity of meat did not fit - the pan was too small. So as someone suggested, I transfered the meat to a large casserole dish and it was great! Hubby and 1 picky child loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Thanks to whomever said to add the 1/2 packet of onion soup mix that made the meatloaf full of flavor. The meatloaf is great and moist but blah on the sauce. It is tooooooo sweet! I felt like I was eating sugar. I like a sweet and sour flavor but that too me was more sweet. I did eventually end up doctoring it up to make it more edible but next time I think I'll make this meatloaf with the onion soup packet (oh and I used real onions) and just leave off the sauce. I'd rather have the ketchup flavored sauces myself. All in all I'd give it a 4 because the main part of the meal was great! Skip the sauce or cut back on the sugar maybe???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is my second time making this meatloaf.Second time around I made a small change. I used an 8oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 15 oz.1/2 went into the meatloaf and 1/2 went to the sauce.I added maybe an 1/8 of a cup of kethcup in my meatloaf and in the sauce as well. Used about 1/4 cup of fresh minced onion.The ground beef i used only had 4% fat in it so i was really worried it would end up dry.because i added fresh onions and all that ketchup my meatloaf ended up so moist,flavorful and DELICIOUS! I added 3-4 tbs.brown sugar to the sauce and did not add the white. I will continue to make this meatloaf with my alterations. The sauce is great by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
To pack in some nutrition and add flavor and moisture, this is what I do: Use 1/2 lb lean ground beef and 1/2 lb ground pork (Yes that's only 1 lb meat total). Instead of using dried minced onion, add chopped 1/2 medium-large onion. Add 1 cup finely chopped carrots and at least 1/2 cup chopped fresh spinach, and follow recipe as directed. I use a mini-prep electric chopper so the additional prep is simple and fast. The extra veggies actually mellow out the sweet and sour flavor. I never use a loaf pan, but instead I use a 9x13 baking dish and shape it into a loaf about 1 1/2" high. This is excellent over white rice. My whole family, including a very picky toddler, loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I love making this meatloaf. It is so easy and makes great lunches for my husband who is a teacher. A tip for blending ground beef so that it doesn't end us solid as a rock: use a pastry blender to mix ingredients. It incorporates air into the mix. I use the pastry blender to make hamburgers as well. I prefer to use ground sirloin for this one, and always line my pan with aluminum foil to save on cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States