Sweet and Sour Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
My family loves this meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN27HALL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
It was incredibly moist and a nice change from the usual repetoire. Initially, I put the meat in a meatloaf pan and the quantity of meat did not fit - the pan was too small. So as someone suggested, I transfered the meat to a large casserole dish and it was great! Hubby and 1 picky child loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Thanks to whomever said to add the 1/2 packet of onion soup mix that made the meatloaf full of flavor. The meatloaf is great and moist but blah on the sauce. It is tooooooo sweet! I felt like I was eating sugar. I like a sweet and sour flavor but that too me was more sweet. I did eventually end up doctoring it up to make it more edible but next time I think I'll make this meatloaf with the onion soup packet (oh and I used real onions) and just leave off the sauce. I'd rather have the ketchup flavored sauces myself. All in all I'd give it a 4 because the main part of the meal was great! Skip the sauce or cut back on the sugar maybe???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is my second time making this meatloaf.Second time around I made a small change. I used an 8oz can of tomato sauce instead of the 15 oz.1/2 went into the meatloaf and 1/2 went to the sauce.I added maybe an 1/8 of a cup of kethcup in my meatloaf and in the sauce as well. Used about 1/4 cup of fresh minced onion.The ground beef i used only had 4% fat in it so i was really worried it would end up dry.because i added fresh onions and all that ketchup my meatloaf ended up so moist,flavorful and DELICIOUS! I added 3-4 tbs.brown sugar to the sauce and did not add the white. I will continue to make this meatloaf with my alterations. The sauce is great by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
To pack in some nutrition and add flavor and moisture, this is what I do: Use 1/2 lb lean ground beef and 1/2 lb ground pork (Yes that's only 1 lb meat total). Instead of using dried minced onion, add chopped 1/2 medium-large onion. Add 1 cup finely chopped carrots and at least 1/2 cup chopped fresh spinach, and follow recipe as directed. I use a mini-prep electric chopper so the additional prep is simple and fast. The extra veggies actually mellow out the sweet and sour flavor. I never use a loaf pan, but instead I use a 9x13 baking dish and shape it into a loaf about 1 1/2" high. This is excellent over white rice. My whole family, including a very picky toddler, loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I love making this meatloaf. It is so easy and makes great lunches for my husband who is a teacher. A tip for blending ground beef so that it doesn't end us solid as a rock: use a pastry blender to mix ingredients. It incorporates air into the mix. I use the pastry blender to make hamburgers as well. I prefer to use ground sirloin for this one, and always line my pan with aluminum foil to save on cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was pretty good meatloaf. I found the vinegar to be a little overpowering. There was a LOT of sauce. I didn't really like that, but my husband did (certainly kills the need for ketchup). I probably won't use as much sauce (but keep in reserve in case he wants to pour more on) to make it more manageable out of the pan. Overall, it tasted good and was a nice change from the traditional meat-loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I made this dish last night and everyone in my famly enjoyed it very much. Except of course my vegetarian child, who didn´t try it. I accompanied it with plain rice which helped enjoy the tasty sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zaragoza, Aragon, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is a very good recipe. Similar to "Sweet-and-Sour Meat Loaf" also found on this site that is made in the microwave. I made them both. For this one, I tried it once as is - and then made some changes to make it just right for me (using some things from the other recipe). I upped it to 2 pounds of ground beef, added 4 tbsp. ketchup, 2 tbsp. yellow mustard and 2 tbsp. onion soup mix to the mixture. I increased the minced onion to 2 tbsp. and left the tomato sauce out of the mixture altogether. I increased the cooking time to 1 hour for a crustier loaf around the edges. For the sauce, I used the whole 15 oz. can of tomato sauce, 4 tbsp. cider vinegar, 4 tbsp. brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I left the mustard out of the sauce. I drizzled just enough over the loaf to glaze and returned to the oven for an additional 15 minutes. Then, we had plenty of sauce to use as a "gravy" for our mashed potatoes (which was out of this world) and more for the meat if desired. This is a sweet and tangy recipe for sure - so you really have to have a taste for it. This recipe provided a great base for me to get to what I was after. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Great meatloaf. Very moist. I did cut back on the sugar a bit and used fresh sweet onion. Also used butter cracker crumbs. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States