Sweet and Sour Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Excellent Meatloaf!! Very flavorful, the whole family enjoyed. I added 1/2 lb. of ground pork and substituted 1 small chopped onion for the dehydrated onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suebesewing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I make this every time I make meatloaf now. Often I use this as a guest recipe. TIP - putting French's onions on top makes it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGINGCHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made this for the first time this evening and it was a big hit. I used tomato soup in plac of the tomato sauce and it worked out just fine. Even my ever-so-pickey 7 year old son ate it and enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I think this is one of the best meatloafs I have EVER had! I took other posters advice and did it on a roasting pan so it wasn't greasy AT ALL and I made the divit in the top of the meatloaf with a spoon so the sauce stayed on top (such a good idea!).. I also added a touch of garlic and wine seasoning from the melting pot (one of my favorites I add to just about everything) to the meatloaf and a little bit of worchestershire sauce to the meatloaf and sauce... I doubled the recipe and we have enough for dinner tomorrow.. I can not WAIT to eat it again tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I made this last night and my picky husband gave it two thumbs up (and he usually doesn't like my meatloaf)! I followed the advice of another poster and drained the fat before adding the sauce - that was necessary. Also, I added diced onion and bell pepper, and used jar marinara sauce instead of tomato sauce. Even my 3-year-old ate this (and she usually skips meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My entire family loves it! Best Meatloaf ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I added a bit of worcesershire, 1/2 c sauteed onions and green bell pepper. The sauce was outstanding, my fav. on any meatloaf to date. Also, for more texture bake the meatloaf on a roasting pan, not in the loaf pan, that has slots that allow it to drain the fat. It gives you those really good end pieces. Also, good tip about forming the swell to hold the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This was absolutely fabulous. My very picky daughter even had THIRDS! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I'll be making this one on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AirForceChick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years now and it never fails me. My husband and kids love it! I wouldn't change anything about it. Somethings are better left alone....this is one of them. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXGirl_Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was really good! A great alternative to regular meatloaf. My super picky son even liked, so it HAS to be good! I paired it with the broccoli and rice stir fry I also found on this site. I can't wait to use the sauce recipe for a meatball appetizer as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyLouWho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Childress, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States