Sweet and Sour Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Yum!!!! The meatloaf was moist and the sauce was delicious. My husband doesn't like sweet sauces or food (besides dessert) and he loved this!! The only thing I changed was put half the sauce on top and baked as directed, and the remaining I drizzled on top after I plated the meatloaf. Definitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Absolutely delicious! The meatloaf was tender and juicy and had great flavor. My hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtbby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Everyone else seems to love this, but we didn't. It wasn't terrible, the sauce was just too sweet and the texture of the meatloaf was too soft. My 18 month old gobbles his all up though, so that's good at least. Sorry, I would have to tweak this if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Giving this a 5 only for the sauce. I wasn't impressed with the meatloaf recipe (I could tell by the ingredients it would be bland) so I stuck with my tried and true grandmother's recipe which uses crushed crackers, pepper, salt, diced onion, shredded cheese, one egg, and half a packet of french onion soup mix. I also only used a pound of ground beef because this was just for me and my fiancé. The only change I made to the sauce was I substituted red wine vinegar for cider vinegar because I didn't have any cider on hand. Turned out great! Glad I finally found a meatloaf recipe the future hubby likes (he's found every other recipe "bitter") Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was just ok for us- it was way too sweet for our taste's and we like meat with sweetness. The meatloaf was standard- I would probably make this again with less sugar and see if it comes out any better. I did make this as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Excellent Recipe!!! Instead of halving my tomato sauce I used ketchup in the meat to save the can for my sauce. I put a layer of sliced cheddar cheese in the middle of the meatloaf, decreased the sugar to a little over 1/2 cup for the whole can of tomato sauce, added a little Lousiana hot sauce and it came out wonderful, Thank You!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! It's so easy and cheap to make. My family loved it. I made extra sauce and added some shredded cheese into meat mix. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I loved the way this meatloaf came out so moist and flavourful! I am very happy I tried it and will make it again. I stuck to the recipe and my family including my two year old enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoeRik
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I have attempted and ruined several meatloaf recipes, but I have to say that this one is fool-proof. I have never had luck with meatloaf but decided to try this one and I'm so glad I did. It was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, using 80/20 hamburger. Leaner hamburger would be healthier, but it doesn't bind as well. 80/20 is greasy, but I just drained the grease at the forty minute mark before applying the sauce. Also, I didn't use all the sauce as I saved some to go on top after it was all done cooking. This recipe will be made again and again, the loaf and the sauce are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The was a great recipe. My husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States