Sweet and Sour Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was great!! Not only was it easy but the entire family loved it. That never happens! I do agree with everyone to double the sauce it really makes it. Thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was just loaded with sugar. I can't believe some people doubled the sauce! The meatloaf was drowning in it. Way too sweet, not enough sour, will not make again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
oh my god !!!!! if you change anything ..... double the sauce !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Overall this was very good: Moist, and a nice tartness from (apple cider) vinegar. I only added 1/4 cup of sugar, but it was still VERY sweet. Next time I'll add a bit more vinegar, and omit the white sugar. I'll probably reduce amount of brown sugar, since that flavour was very noticable, so dish has a better/equal balance of sour & sweet :) 4/18/09 I've made a few more times since original review in 8/08, and we like it even better w/changes made (still using 1.5# ground beef): 1 T brown sugar, 3 T cider vinegar, no white sugar. For us the balance between the sweet and the sour is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is the only meatloaf I make! My family loves it; my teenager asked me to make it for Thanksgiving dinner! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
From someone who was never a big fan of meatloaf, I love this recipe! Also, my husband and two kids love it and request it all the time. When do kids crave meatloaf? Not mine until I tried this recipe. I normally add some of the sauce to the meatloaf so the sweet flavor is throughout. Just don't add too much or it won't hold together. Trust me on this one, once you try this meatloaf recipe, you'll never make meatloaf any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was very good, although I guess you could say I didn't follow the recipe. I accidentally grabbed a can of tomato paste (yes, a large can), so I ended up mixing some of that with tomato soup for the sauce. It was very good, although I will have to make it again following the recipe. I also baked it in an 8" square pan...more crust, definitely cooked. It was still VERY moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATASHAW1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Every time I ask my kids what they want for dinner, it's meatloaf, this one. They love it. It's easy and always turns our perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is pretty good. I use cider vinegar instead of regular vinegar. I once made the mistake of trying to blend together the remaining meatloaf ingredients while the hamburger was defrosting in the microwave. Didn't turn out too well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I'm a novice cook, and I've had rather limited success with the recipes I've tried, but this one was a hit! The only changes I made were to double the pepper and onion, add a little garlic powder, and I used half the recommended amount of white sugar for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States