Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very, very good. I did use ground turkey, doubled the recipe and used a small can of pineapple juice instead of the lemon juice. I also added about 1/4 cup panko bread crumbs to make sure the meatballs stayed together, which they did. My husband walked in the house and said, "Mmmm, I can smell the pineapple!" We both thought they were worth keeping the recipe and rotating with other meatball recipes we love. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I had these meatballs at a Christmas party just last night, and I fell in love!! I had to come on here and find the recipe because they were just delicious! I have a feeling these are going to become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was so easy for a covered dish Christmas party I attended. The only thing I changed (by mistake) was I added about double the amount of lemon juice, it wasn't noticeable. Next time, I'll use half the onion, though, because it was a little too much for small meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Made these for my housewarming party. Made 5 lbs of meatballs, I ended up able to eat 1 (not 1 lb) 1 meatball out of them all. They were a huge success. The only substitution is we used meatloaf mix which is beef, pork and veal combined. Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Nuked my meatballs a little to cook them a bit so they didn't fall apart. Added pineapple chunks and juice instead of lemon. Don't have slow cooker so I made it on the stove top. Came out great. Everyone loved them but agreed the meatballs were missing something... not sure what spice though. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Pretty good. I added one personal sized cup of pineapple tidbits to the sauce (with juice). Served over white rice. 11 year old daughter loved it! I thought it was better the second day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The first time I made this I followed the directions exactly, but I made the meat balls smaller to accomidate my tastes. The sauce was okay at best. It was very thin and I almost tasted the grape, which grape jelly is pretty gross in my opinion. (the only reason I tried the recipe was because my husband talked me into it.) The meat balls also fell apart. I read the reviews and took someone's suggestion of using 1 cup of pineapple juice instead of the lemon juice and I thickened it a little with a flour water mixture. This made the sauce unbelievable! Then, I made my stand by meatball recipe and put the meatballs and sauce over egg noodles. The whole dish was transformed into an amazing dinner that I will repeat time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I think this is a great recipe. It comes together very fast but tastes like you worked all day. I cheat and serve with a pre-packaged Teriyaki noodle packet as a side. They work very well together. The kids love them and hubby likes taking seconds or thirds as well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Made this for a work party-people loved them! Some changes: Use 2 pounds of ground beef and one pound sausage. Cook the meatballs first, then simmer in the sauce. Absolutely delicious and soooo simple! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Good, but tangy. The rest of my family liked them though. I liked them, just a little tangy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States