Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Like others I used frozen meatballs and tripled the recipe...some reviewers said they were too spicy,I am not a fan of spicy food. Let me tell you these are not too spicy and they taste fantastic. I'm taking them to a party later but I'm having a hard time not eating them all right now. So easy to make. Will be a regular recipe in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I've been using this recipe for years, not just as a party appetizer, but also as a main course. I have used frozen meatballs and made my own but my own are by far better (but obviously more time consuming). I usually add chopped fresh parsley and minced garlic to the meatball mix and if I have it, some dried cumin. Also, for a main course, I spoon the meatballs and sauce over egg noodles and serve with a nice side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oregon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I admit I used store bought meatballs. But the sauce was fabulous and so were the meatballs! Quick and easy and perfect for any event. I really thought the sauce would be overly sweet and to my surprise it really was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Getting ready to do this for a second family reunion and they disappeared the first time so making a double bunch! Added a little hot turkey sausage....very little.....and put a cranberry in the middle as a surprise: Big hit! Made them about 3/4" each as an appetizer with picks. Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Carroll

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe was really, really good,even my picky teenager liked it. After cooking the meatballs, I removed them from the pan, drained most of the drippings then sautéed onions, snow peas & celery (what I had on hand; was wishing I had water chestnuts too) until tender, then returned the meatballs to the pan and added the sauce. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I haven't made these yet, but have made similar. I too, would pre-cook the meatballs. 350 degrees for about 10 mins. Make the sauce on the stove top, then mix all together in a casserole dish and bake in the oven until sauce is bubbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Thank you for this recipe, super easy and unbelievably tasty. Im a single living with 3 fast-food loving roomates. Thr most they have ever cooked is reheated fast-food in the microwave. We made a large meal serving 20 and needed something delicious. I decided to take my chances with these meatballs. Our guests were dumbfounded. I have a guy coming over to me like, bro u gotta tell me how u made this, its so darn good. I didn't tell him because chefs never tell their secrets. I listened to another person and put in pineapple juice I also added a bit of ketchup and a tinge of soy sauce. Wow it was good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Loved the recipe but next time I will use a lot less chili sauce. Way too spicy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These things need to come with a warning: Will set your mouth on fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States