Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
The chili sauce in this recipe adds an extra "kick" that you usually don't find in traditional meatball recipes. They are a sure crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Okay, I cheated. I used a box of frozen fully cooked meatballs. However, that sauce is to die for! A really nice change from our standard sweet&sour bottled sauce. I put the frozen meatballs and sauce in the slow cooker on low and they were ready 4 hours later. A double thumbs up from this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
358 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
These are great, the first thing to go at my Christmas party, I added a little more grape jelly for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I prefer to make my meatballs with half ground beef and half pork sausage. It adds to the flavor, but you have to brown and drain before cooking them in the sauce. I also added some dijon mustard and garlic to the sauce to the cut the sweetness a little more. Made them recently for a cocktail party and everybody raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
A delicious, quick dinner if you have frozen meatballs handy! To make it more healthy, next time I'll try cranberry sauce instead of grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Super easy, few ingredients, tasty. My kids couldn't get enough of them. Husband too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This recipe is perfect as is for excellent appetizers. My family has been making these exactly this way for many years to great reviews. Nowadays if we have time we make the meatballs - if not we use the frozen variety. No one really knows or cares. And these are not just for appetizers anymore. We also love these with mashed potatoes and boiled cabbage on the side. Thanks, Tammy for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
These were delicious. I used frozen swedish meatballs. Rave reviews from my guests. Their comments were that it was not too sweet, not too sour, just the right amount of tanginess. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I just brought this to a Xmas party and people who didn't even like meatballs ate them. There were none left and others want this recipe. I store bought the meatballs (swedish meatballs). Either way I'm sure it will taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Made this recipe for my son's birthday party and it was a hit. I made the meatballs a few days before and cooked the sauce on the stove the day of the party. I added it to the crockpot with meatballs and it was great. Will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBS32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States