Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I used a bag of frozen meatballs. Substituted the grape jelly for sour cherry jam and used 375 ml Used a jar of this wicked spicy chili sauce 300 ml And added a cup of heinz ketchup Holy mother of G@d! Was awesome! What flavour! and smelled amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I made this recipe once for an anual family potluck. I was told to not attend again unless I had this recipe with me. The grape jelly throws everyone off I think. My co-worker said it sounded gross so I brought her some and she retracted everything she said. For the chili sauce I used 'Maggi Chilli Garlic Sauce' and for the Grape Jelly I used 'Western Family Grape Jelly' (if you live in Canada - Yes I live in Canada) then Western Family is from Save-On-Foods or I'm sure any grape jelly will do. I hope everyone enjoys. P.S. - This recipe is REALLY spicy using the hot sauce I recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
These were ok but the recipe should state that the meatballs need to be browned before going in the slow cooker. We put over rice and doubled the sauce. I also added brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
My family and I were not crazy about this recipe at all. It's the flavors, the sauce is just too sweet, you can almost taste the grape jelly. I won't be making this again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I made these meatballs with a can of cranberry sauce instead and they rocked! Cudos cant wait to have again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Yay! Just like my mother's- yummy!!! Made these with my 3 year old's help and we loved them. Had to cook a little longer than stated probably due to meatball size- but fabulous with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I am very fond of this meal. It's easy and fun. My kids and my husband like it well. The only thing I do differently is that instead of making my own meatballs, I buy the Italian style meatballs. They are perfectly seasoned for this dish. I also like to make these meatballs for appetizers with toothpicks inserted on each one for easy pickup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
My mom used to make this for us when I was a kid and I am so happy to have finally found the recipe. I made the meatballs with ground turkey rather then beef and so I added about 3/4 c of bread crumbs to firm up the meat consistency. Also, I didnt have time to do the crock pot thing so I browned the meatballs in the skillet, then added the sauce and let it simmer for about 30-45 min. and it still turned out soooo yummy. Thank you so much for bringing this recipe back to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I don't know what happened, but we did not like this at all. I didn't have any bottled chili sauce, so I made the sauce using the "chili sauce" recipe from this website. It tasted fine. Then I made the meatballs following the recipe exactly. The meatballs came out tasteless and had a strange texture, and the sauce turned into soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
We love these. we have been making them for a few years but we always use the little frozen meatballs. These are so easy and they always go fast. Great to take to parties/functions etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States