Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I used frozen meatballs because it's so much easier! So...I did not know that the chili sauce was the stuff you find in the ketchup aisle. I therefore ended up using the Thai Chili sauce you find in the ethnic foods aise. This was SPICY in a serious way! Everyone loved it. The other way is yummy too, but if you want to set yourself on fire, make the same mistake I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We didn't care for these at all. I won't be making these again. The crockpot dried out the meat way too much. I did like the flavor of the sauce. If it was cooked in a saucepan I may have liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I've never made meatballs before but decided to try this recipe as part of the first xmas brunch I've ever hosted for my family. Big hit. I doubled the recipes, meatballs and sauce; but with 6 people they went within the first 20 minutes! Simple yet yummy! Will make again...and often! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
this was an extremely easy recipe, even with homeade meatballs...all age groups loved it my only regret is that I didn't make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is really good. i made it a couple times now and everytime I've had rave reviews. I do alter the recipe a little. I add pineapple juice, which gives it a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Wasn't to fond of these at all. For some reason the sauce just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
These were fantastic! Although I did use frozen meatballs as I was pressed for time for a afternoon gathering. The leftovers went home with my daughter and her fiance, and he hoovered them up in a flash! Super Simple to make, toss everything into a slow cooker and in about 4 hours - PRESTO! Thanks for the AWESOME recipe, will DEFINITELY make again! Will be great at Christmas time for those inevitable get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I used a bag of frozen meatballs. Substituted the grape jelly for sour cherry jam and used 375 ml Used a jar of this wicked spicy chili sauce 300 ml And added a cup of heinz ketchup Holy mother of G@d! Was awesome! What flavour! and smelled amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I made this recipe once for an anual family potluck. I was told to not attend again unless I had this recipe with me. The grape jelly throws everyone off I think. My co-worker said it sounded gross so I brought her some and she retracted everything she said. For the chili sauce I used 'Maggi Chilli Garlic Sauce' and for the Grape Jelly I used 'Western Family Grape Jelly' (if you live in Canada - Yes I live in Canada) then Western Family is from Save-On-Foods or I'm sure any grape jelly will do. I hope everyone enjoys. P.S. - This recipe is REALLY spicy using the hot sauce I recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
These were ok but the recipe should state that the meatballs need to be browned before going in the slow cooker. We put over rice and doubled the sauce. I also added brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States