Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
The base recipe is great--for an even greater dish, saute minced garlic, minced onion, and minced bell pepper before adding the chili sauce and grape jelly. Add sriracha (Thai hot sauce) and rice wine or white vinegar (I added both) in a small amount. Cook together to blend flavors. I also added cooked carrot puree, cooked butternut squash puree, and cooked cauliflower puree because husband doesn't eat vegetables. Undetectable! I added ketchup to the meat mixture before making meatballs and substituted onion powder for chopped onions (unless you saute the onions first, they will never get hot enough to become soft). I baked the meatballs and added to the sauce in the pan--picky husband loved. I have been looking for a great sweet and sour sauce for ages. This is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
ok, easy to make just didn't wow me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
These little darlings are awesome. Very easy, quick and just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radarslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Surprising good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This is one for your recipe box! I overcooked them and they were still good. Im keeping this on hand so that I can bring these to a family gathering. We just ate them with a fork for dinner, and my worst critic, my 2 yr old, ate them without adding ketchup! That passes the test in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Good, but nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These meatballs are far too sweet. I definitely won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Great stuff! We loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and we ate it all up! I cant wait to make it again. Best sweet and sour meatballs i have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! Even my picky 7 year old gobbled them up. I did cheat though and used turkey meatballs from my local store, but the sauce was to die for. Also I didn't use a slow cooker, (mine is too big) I mixed everything in a pot it still came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slate Hill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Great. I cheated though: I used Frozen meatballs from Costco. I put all the ingrediants in the crockpot and cooked on high for 4 hours. Came out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by †Angela†

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States