Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Awesome! I used frozen meatballs and doubled the recipe. I also added a can of pineapple chunks which I really liked. They went over very well at our office party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Thanks for the quick and easy recipe I needed to find! Used frozen meatballs because it was a last minute request to bring something to the party. Put evertything together and cooked on low for 4 hours. Doubled the recipe and used about 130 frozen one inch meatballs. All were gone within a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Too sweet for us. I used bottled chili sauce, but if I made it again I would try my own. Either that or reduce jelly amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
So fabulous! I'm making this one of my staple recipes. My husband devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I tried this recipe this weekend and was not impressed. It lookd unappetizing and while it tasted ok my husband and I agreed it wasn't a repeat recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Unfortunately the meatballs fell apart. I will try frozen meatballs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I really loved that it was so simple to make and very tasty. Thought the smell was a lil werid but it tasted great. Served over rice. Will make again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I found it rather boring. But not bad for a really quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
The base recipe is great--for an even greater dish, saute minced garlic, minced onion, and minced bell pepper before adding the chili sauce and grape jelly. Add sriracha (Thai hot sauce) and rice wine or white vinegar (I added both) in a small amount. Cook together to blend flavors. I also added cooked carrot puree, cooked butternut squash puree, and cooked cauliflower puree because husband doesn't eat vegetables. Undetectable! I added ketchup to the meat mixture before making meatballs and substituted onion powder for chopped onions (unless you saute the onions first, they will never get hot enough to become soft). I baked the meatballs and added to the sauce in the pan--picky husband loved. I have been looking for a great sweet and sour sauce for ages. This is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
ok, easy to make just didn't wow me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States