Sweet and Sour Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Made these for my housewarming party. Made 5 lbs of meatballs, I ended up able to eat 1 (not 1 lb) 1 meatball out of them all. They were a huge success. The only substitution is we used meatloaf mix which is beef, pork and veal combined. Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Nuked my meatballs a little to cook them a bit so they didn't fall apart. Added pineapple chunks and juice instead of lemon. Don't have slow cooker so I made it on the stove top. Came out great. Everyone loved them but agreed the meatballs were missing something... not sure what spice though. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Pretty good. I added one personal sized cup of pineapple tidbits to the sauce (with juice). Served over white rice. 11 year old daughter loved it! I thought it was better the second day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The first time I made this I followed the directions exactly, but I made the meat balls smaller to accomidate my tastes. The sauce was okay at best. It was very thin and I almost tasted the grape, which grape jelly is pretty gross in my opinion. (the only reason I tried the recipe was because my husband talked me into it.) The meat balls also fell apart. I read the reviews and took someone's suggestion of using 1 cup of pineapple juice instead of the lemon juice and I thickened it a little with a flour water mixture. This made the sauce unbelievable! Then, I made my stand by meatball recipe and put the meatballs and sauce over egg noodles. The whole dish was transformed into an amazing dinner that I will repeat time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I think this is a great recipe. It comes together very fast but tastes like you worked all day. I cheat and serve with a pre-packaged Teriyaki noodle packet as a side. They work very well together. The kids love them and hubby likes taking seconds or thirds as well! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Made this for a work party-people loved them! Some changes: Use 2 pounds of ground beef and one pound sausage. Cook the meatballs first, then simmer in the sauce. Absolutely delicious and soooo simple! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Good, but tangy. The rest of my family liked them though. I liked them, just a little tangy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made these for a baby shower I hosted, and they were a hit. I got lots of positive feedback, so I will definitely make these again. I omitted the lemon juice and used premade frozen meatballs, so I can't comment on the meatball portion of the recipe. Almost forgot, I also added pineapple chunks - SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
My family did not care for this one. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Thought it was just fine. Went over big with the family. Served over egg noodles. Just an FYI, don't get a generic chili sauce, get a good brand. The junk I got from china-mart had so much vinegar in it, it just threw off the whole thing, had to tweak a little to cut that tang. I did prebrown the meatballs to give a good deep flavor and I did saute the onions to get a good flavor out of them. I will be making this again. Thank you Tammy for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States