Sweet and Sour Meatballs in Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I did this a little differently, and instead of throwing everything into the oven, I let it simmer on the stove while I prepared and fried the meatballs, and then tossed the meat into the sauce and let it simmer longer until the rice was done. I also used cornstarch to thicken it since I took the stove-top shortcut. I was very skeptical of the sauce, but it turned out fantastic. It was absolutely perfect with the meatballs and served over rice. I've done different recipes before and they were too sweet that even my kids wouldn't eat it. The tomato sauce really mellowed it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We really enjoyed this although it is very sweet. I might cut back a bit on the sugar next time. There was enough sauce to completely fill the 9x13 dish. I noticed the contributor said she doubled the sauce, so next time I will probably cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! The sauce was to die for. I didn't have enough ketchup so I substituted a cup of the ketchup for Lucille's Original BBQ sauce. It was fabulous! Thank you for this wonderful recipe - we loved it. This sauce would make a fantastic glaze on a meatloaf too - going to give THAT a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbycook1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Just tried this and we love it - didn't change a thing - the meat balls were nice and tender - my meat balls must have been smaller - theyvtook a half hour at 350 filing this under YUM! thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Holy cow these are a huge hit in my house!! The only thing I did different was I browned the meatballs in a frying pan with a bit of olive oil. It was very easy to make and I tripled the recipe!! Had everyone over for dinner. I had sauteed spinach on the side for a complete dinner. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Loved this recipe! At first I thought the sauce was way too sweet but once it cooled and I kept eating it, it wasn't so bad. I served this over rice and my husband just gobbled this up! It was a little too much for just 2 people but it gave us lunch for the next day. Will definitely make again! I'm interested in trying this sauce with other proteins instead of beef, like kielbasa or maybe even chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
very good and very easy! mine made 20 meatballs, and since i was in a hurry, i put them in the oven at 400 for 35 minutes. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I've made this MANY times already and we love it - it makes more than enough sauce so you could cut it back a little bit if you wanted to. We love it every time I make it - it's become a "frequent flyer" with my menu planning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I love this recipe, I make my meatballs much smaller, it just takes more prep time, they are great on hot dog buns as well as rice or pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Awesome!! Super easy and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States