Sweet and Sour Meatballs in Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
very good and very easy! mine made 20 meatballs, and since i was in a hurry, i put them in the oven at 400 for 35 minutes. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We really enjoyed this although it is very sweet. I might cut back a bit on the sugar next time. There was enough sauce to completely fill the 9x13 dish. I noticed the contributor said she doubled the sauce, so next time I will probably cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Loved this recipe! At first I thought the sauce was way too sweet but once it cooled and I kept eating it, it wasn't so bad. I served this over rice and my husband just gobbled this up! It was a little too much for just 2 people but it gave us lunch for the next day. Will definitely make again! I'm interested in trying this sauce with other proteins instead of beef, like kielbasa or maybe even chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
We didn't love this recipe at all. I'm sad to say the meatballs had no flavor and it made a ton of sauce that also had no flavor. It was edible so we ate it and I was asked by my husband and son not to make this again and I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnLeeW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hauppauge, New York, USA
Living In: Selden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good. It was something different. The sauce ingredients seemed kind of odd to me at first, but they made a nice flavored sweet and sour ketchup sauce. I used lean ground beef and low-fat milk and it didn't seem to be a problem. The meatballs ended up being giant! The 12 meatballs equalled 4 scoops with a standard cookie scoop. Clean-up was fairly easy to. I ended up using a 13x9 disposable pan, leftover from the last holiday, and putting it on a sheet pan. The recipe makes lots of sauce. I ate it with some litely buttered rice, from the rice cooker, and a small salad. One meatball, with sides, easily filled me up. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Holy cow these are a huge hit in my house!! The only thing I did different was I browned the meatballs in a frying pan with a bit of olive oil. It was very easy to make and I tripled the recipe!! Had everyone over for dinner. I had sauteed spinach on the side for a complete dinner. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Just tried this and we love it - didn't change a thing - the meat balls were nice and tender - my meat balls must have been smaller - theyvtook a half hour at 350 filing this under YUM! thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! The sauce was to die for. I didn't have enough ketchup so I substituted a cup of the ketchup for Lucille's Original BBQ sauce. It was fabulous! Thank you for this wonderful recipe - we loved it. This sauce would make a fantastic glaze on a meatloaf too - going to give THAT a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbycook1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States