Sweet and Sour Meatballs in Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I wanted to rate this 3.5 stars b/c they are better than ok. Just too sweet for us, AND I didn't even use all the sugar it said to! I used 1/2c each. Next time I'll use even less. Good spicy twist to it, if you can get the sugar balanced correctly, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I gave this a 5 star because it is a fabulous BASE recipe that can easily be changed to suit your family's taste buds! All of my family enjoys this, even the toddler who normally won't eat ANYTHING with a sauce on it!! First time, made as written... it was good, but was missing something. Second time, I used my meatball recipe, cut sauce in 1/2 and added 1/2 tsp rice vinegar and 1/2 tsp lemon juice to the sauce... MUCH better and with this I realized it was versatile. Last night, I used the sauce recipe with stir fry veggies/ chicken and served over rice... FABULOUS!! Add soy sauce (to taste) and it makes a very light terriyaki sauce. Thank you SOOOOOOO much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
My family love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Awesome!! Super easy and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I love this recipe, I make my meatballs much smaller, it just takes more prep time, they are great on hot dog buns as well as rice or pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
great. add lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I've made this MANY times already and we love it - it makes more than enough sauce so you could cut it back a little bit if you wanted to. We love it every time I make it - it's become a "frequent flyer" with my menu planning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I did this a little differently, and instead of throwing everything into the oven, I let it simmer on the stove while I prepared and fried the meatballs, and then tossed the meat into the sauce and let it simmer longer until the rice was done. I also used cornstarch to thicken it since I took the stove-top shortcut. I was very skeptical of the sauce, but it turned out fantastic. It was absolutely perfect with the meatballs and served over rice. I've done different recipes before and they were too sweet that even my kids wouldn't eat it. The tomato sauce really mellowed it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Oh Wow!! So tasty!! Pretty easy too, and most are ingredients are pantry items that you have already. I was craving a meatball with a sweet flavor and this did the trick! I just ate the meatballs but my husband (who needs a lot of food) ate it on some white rice which was obviously easy to make....definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
i only give it 4 stars because i think its needs some vinegar or lemon juice to bring out that tart sour taste to cut through the sweet. other than that i wouldnt change anything about it even my picky eaters(kids) asked for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States