Sweet and Sour Meatballs (Suan T'ien Niu Jou Po Lo La Tzu) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was great but I made it a little better. First the sauce must be a clear color and takes over the flavor of the meat. The meat also needed a little help. This is what I did. For the meatballs, I added 1 TBS of Worcestershire Sauce and used 1 TBS Arrowroot instead of the other starches because there is no flavor and it is clear. For the sauce, I substituted again Arrowroot for the other starch mixture for a clear and no aftertaste thickener. I also changed the 1/2 cup sugar to 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup Brown sugar and I added 1 TBS Lemon Juice for tartness. This turned out clean, clear with a lot of sweet/sour flavor. My family of 62 people, all home styled Chefs thought it was great. I married a Russian. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Haney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Simferopol, Crimea (Autonomous Republic), Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
This was pretty good. I did make some changes. I was leary about putting cornstarch in the meatballs so I substituted dry bread crumbs. Instead of frying the meatballs I cooked them in the oven. For the sauce I doubled the soy, pineapple juice and vinegar. I replaced the fresh pineapple with red bell pepper. All and all it came out good and I also served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Outstanding recipe, Poni! My family loves these meatballs, and the sauce is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Very good recipe! My suggestions: Double the sauce ingredients if you are serving over rice. Want to cut calories? Use splenda instead of sugar. Spray Pam in pan prior to browning meatballs and omit oil prior to adding pineapple juice. If sauce is too thick for you add additional juice or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERBBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is really authentic. We had it over garlic fried rice with veggie egg rolls. I didn't really care for the meatballs, but I'm not really a fan, even in Italian food. I did enjoy the veggies and I liked the taste of the sauce. Hubby, who loves this sort of food, really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I have made this recipe twice, and there is just enough sauce. The first time I doubled the sauce as others had mentioned. It made too much sauce, and all we tasted was the sauce. The second time we kept the recipe as is, and it was perfect. As for the meatballs, I was leary about using cornstarch, but I did and they were the best meatballs I tasted. They were moist, delicate and just melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Absolutely awseome! You can double the sauce as most here have suggested, or use half pork, half beef, (that's what I did...excellent) but whatever you do, make it! Your loved ones will think you've become a chef! (I know mine did.....now to live up to this ..hmmmmmm) LOVED IT!! Rob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Great! Added chunks of pineapple to the meat prior to making the meatballs. Added just a little zest, and blended great with the rest of the recipe. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I have tried other recipes, and this one is my family's favorite. I always make extra for left overs too. I do add more veggies though. Always extra peppers and sometimes celery too. What ever I have that might work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was something diffrent to make and it turned out really good. I do agree with some other reviewers that the meatballs could be a little better, but it is a great start. Next time I'm just gonna make the sauce and veggies and use shrimp or chicken for my meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States