Sweet and Sour Meatballs (Suan T'ien Niu Jou Po Lo La Tzu) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I am a big fan of sweet and sour chicken, and I love meat balls with marinara sauce. However, I have discovered that I am not partial to meatballs in sweet and sour sauce. I thought the meatballs were really bland, and I wasn't especially impressed with the sauce either - there are better recipes for both on this site. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I made the Sweet and Sour sauce and found it a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larran LeGassicke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
Do you know that thing that happens when you have something you really, really like? You want more. This is the case here. So now, I've waited a respectable 4 days and I'm making it again tonight. I just loved it! Adding other veggies will do, but onions and peppers are a must! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
MY HUSBAND AND I REALLY ENJOYED THIS. IT TASTE LIKE YOU ORDERED IT RIGHT FROM THE CHINESE RESTURANT. WONDERFUL FLAVER. WE PUT IT ON TOP OF WHITE RICE. AND SERVERD IT WITH CHINESE CABBAGE SALAD. ONE OF THE RECIPES ON THE SITE. YOU WILL REALLY ENJOY THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
These were really flavorful meatballs and pretty easy to make. The fresh pineapple definitely made the recipe. The meatballs tasted even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
I made this for a couple of missionaries for my church - 19 year old boys... I dropped it off and when I got home one of them called me and asked if, when he gets married, he could have his wife take cooking lessons from me! It's a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Made this for dinner tonight. My kids and hubby thought it was wonderful. Served it over rice noodles. Very different from the normal stuff we usually eat. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I did as the submitter suggested and made this a vegetarian dish substituting the meatballs with chopped broccoli. I really like the sauce and didn't find it too sweet. I did not add the carrots but would recommend doing so because the more veggies, the better. This was yummy...thanks Poni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I loved the sauce and vegetables. I did not care for the meatballs at all however. They had a strange texture (from a lack of bread crumbs or oatmeal is what I think) and little taste. I would make this again but with a different meatball recipe. Also, I had never tried frying meatballs before, had previously only baked them, but wanted to give it a try. I think baking is much, much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Great meatball recipe - I even use it just to cook up a batch of meatballs and use in spaghetti when I'm in a hurry. S&S good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States