Sweet and Sour Meatballs (Suan T'ien Niu Jou Po Lo La Tzu) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Absolutely awseome! You can double the sauce as most here have suggested, or use half pork, half beef, (that's what I did...excellent) but whatever you do, make it! Your loved ones will think you've become a chef! (I know mine did.....now to live up to this ..hmmmmmm) LOVED IT!! Rob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very, very good! I used red peppers because they were on sale and threw in some broccoli that I had on hand. It was very colorful and really tasty. I will definately make this again and will try it with chicken soon. My stepdaughter couldn't believe it was homemade except she said she knew it was better than any of the local restaurants! Thanks QUIKSMYLE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was fairly good. I made 2 batches. 1st batch had way to much sweet and sour sauce and not quite enough of everything else. So the 2nd batch was made with this adjustment..increased ground beef to 2lbs and 1 addtional egg and 1 tsp minced garlic. Increase pineapple juice just to 1 1/3 cup, decresased vinegar to 2 tbsp, pineapple to 2 cups, 2 bell peppers, 1 whole carrot and 1 whole onion. And that worked very nicely. That's how I remember sweet and sour meatballs when I lived in Guam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
These were okay, I had some left over pineapple to use up, so thought I'd give this recipe a try. Other than using fresh pineapple, I followed the recipe and was not overly impressed. I didn't care for the consistency of the sauce. I did of course adjust it afterward but if made as written this recipe is 3 stars at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is an awesome Sweet and Sour Meatball recipe! After reading many of the reviews, I did double the sauce. I made the meatballs as is but I did add about 1/4 cup of bread crumbs, a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce, and more than a pinch of fresh ground pepper. I also baked the meatballs in the oven at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. For the sauce, I doubled everything across the board except for the pineapple juice. I used a large can of pineapple tidbits which yielded 1 cup of juice, so I just added filtered water to make 2 cups of juice. As suggested in another review, instead of using all white sugar, I used half brown sugar and half organic evaporated cane juice sugar (because that's all I had, but regular sugar would be just fine.) Delish!! I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Good recipe.The beef meatballs were ok but maybe if they were pork the meat taste would be milder and more complimentary to the sweet sour sauce. Will have to try it with ground pork next time. I started the sauce (added a few chili flakes) in my skillet but then let it thicken with the meatballs in my slow cooker for 4 hours on low (longer is better) but added the veggies only at the last hour of cooking. The meatballs were softer after soaking in the sauce overnight so it was better the next day.I'll make this recipe again since I can easily tweak it to my liking if I want some extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I tripled this recipe for a party and it turned out great! I also split the sugars, half brown, half white, and I used my own meatball recipe. I didn't use quite as much cornstarch as the sauce called for and I let the veggies and meatballs simmer in the sauce for about an hour, then they sat in the fridge overnight. It was delicious and easy. I will use this recipe from now on!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Soooooo delicious! I'm a vegetarian so I used soy "meatballs." I doubled the sauce and added a bunch more veggies. The sauce was the perfect combination of sweet and sour. This was quick and easy to make and yummy to eat. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is really authentic. We had it over garlic fried rice with veggie egg rolls. I didn't really care for the meatballs, but I'm not really a fan, even in Italian food. I did enjoy the veggies and I liked the taste of the sauce. Hubby, who loves this sort of food, really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of doubling the sauce. I loved the flavor in the sauce but the combination of the meatballs and the sauce didn't work for me. I might have liked a lighter meatball made with chicken or turkey. The sauce would be yummy over chicken or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States