Sweet and Sour Meatballs (Suan T'ien Niu Jou Po Lo La Tzu) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe served over rice. I had some leftover meatballs to use up from another recipe, so I just made the sauce and veggie combo as listed here (with the addition of some broccoli to the mix). I did sautee the vegetables before adding everything into the sauce mixture. Overall, the recipe has a nice flavor to it. I made this looking for something different, but I ended up with a recipe that I'll definitely be making often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made this last night and it was pretty good. I recommend cutting all the veggies first to keep the cooking time down to a minimum. I used 1 lb. of ground beef & 1 lb. of lean ground turkey which kept the meatballs moist. I forgot to take into account that I added more meat which left us lacking the sauce, mmmm so good, I used brown sugar instead of white. I had to make it a little on the plain side for my picky eaters so no peppers & no onion. Next time I think I'll add some chili & a little garlic to the sauce & definitely double on the sauce recipe. Overall it was good. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcia
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This by far was one of my favorite recipes that I have prepared from this site. I followed the recipe almost exactly as written. Changes I made were I baked the meatballs as one of the reviewers noted and I added green onions and a bit of bread crumbs to the ground beef. ooh I also doubled the sauce as one reviewer said. It tastes so great over the rice. I would give this recipe more stars if I could!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very good. I used ground turkey instead of beef much better not so heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
**** My husband really flipped for this recipe. It will be permantly added to our family recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was something diffrent to make and it turned out really good. I do agree with some other reviewers that the meatballs could be a little better, but it is a great start. Next time I'm just gonna make the sauce and veggies and use shrimp or chicken for my meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
OMG...so good and so easy. Even my 7 year old cleaned her plate, and my husband had to step away from the table because he couldn't stop eating. Would also be good with chicken or pork. This is definitely going in our regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
perfect kid friendly recipe. wouldn't change a thing. my whole picky family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petal, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this recipe almost as is and my husband and I loved it. I will definitely make again. I didn't see the need for the oil - so I omitted that and I steamed the veggies a bit before adding to the sauce because we prefer them a bit softer. Next time I may try to reduce the amount of sugar. We watch our calories and 1 cup is a lot of sugar. But overall excellent recipe and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Absolutely awseome! You can double the sauce as most here have suggested, or use half pork, half beef, (that's what I did...excellent) but whatever you do, make it! Your loved ones will think you've become a chef! (I know mine did.....now to live up to this ..hmmmmmm) LOVED IT!! Rob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States