Sweet and Sour Meatballs (Suan T'ien Niu Jou Po Lo La Tzu) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I thought this was pretty good. Husband loved it because I used beef instead of my usual ground turkey. I didn't put the pineapple in, just used about 3/4 c. red bell pepper. I may have liked it better if there was another vegetable in it-- broccoli maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Outstanding recipe, Poni! My family loves these meatballs, and the sauce is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
This wasn't awful, but I don't think I'll make this again. I have made sweet and sour before, using a mix for a base and liked that better. Maybe I should have cut down on the sugar more. I also think this needed far more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
This recipe is wonderful. I did not use the bell green pepper and carrots. I added one chopped apple and 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes. Served them as an appetizer last night, not one left! They not only ate them all, but I had to give them the recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
This was pretty good. I did make some changes. I was leary about putting cornstarch in the meatballs so I substituted dry bread crumbs. Instead of frying the meatballs I cooked them in the oven. For the sauce I doubled the soy, pineapple juice and vinegar. I replaced the fresh pineapple with red bell pepper. All and all it came out good and I also served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
Pretty quick and easy to make. I might cut down a little on the sugar next time, because it was a little too sweet, but otherwise very good. It is very good served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
Excellant!! We even ate the left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
Everything she claimed it was, but better!! Try it with breaded pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States