Sweet and Sour Meatballs IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
These were a welcome change in my house. The meatballs were very flavorfull. The kids thought they great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
AMAZING!!! I changed the recipe a little--I didn't have beef bouillon, so that wasn't added at all. For the meatballs I used 1.2 lbs ground turkey and only added 1/3 cup bread crumbs and added a dash of soy sauce and minced garlic. I then cooked the meatballs about 3/4 of the way through in a little bit of canola oil before I added the sauce. I made the sauce exactly how it said minus adding the pineapple chunks at the end. It was absolutely delicious!! I served it over rice! You could add additional veggies to make it a meal--onions, water chestnuts, pea pods, etc. Overall--DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
My husband is not a huge fan of sweet and sour, but he loved this. It's a nice mild, beefier sweet/sour that is just wonderful. Turned out just perfect over brown rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I made this for a luau last week and everyone raved about it. It competed with a variety of other foods, but these meatballs were the hit! We put everything (but the peppers and pineapple chunks) into a crock pot and left it on high for maybe an hour (until it hit a boil) then switched it to low, added the peppers and pineapple, and kept it there for several hours during the party. I altered the amount to serve 20, so, if putting this in a crock pot, keep an eye on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I decided to use this recipe to serve to several guests at a dinner party. It was pretty easy to make and came out wonderful. I served the meatballs over white rice and everyone enjoyed them meatballs. I will definately be adding this recipe to my favorites to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
OMG!!! This is an excellent dish!!! I invited friends over and made these meatballs for them. I followed the directions EXACTLY and got perfect results! The sauce was just right (not too thick, not too thin). I used ground ginger because I didn't have fresh ginger on hand (just eyeball it). The meatballs are EXCELLENT served over egg noodles (I prefer noodles instead of rice). Serve with a tossed salad and cold applesauce on the side. These meatballs are very versatile and can be served with a variety of sauces (i.e. Bar-B-Q sauce or brown gravy - just omit the pepper and pineapple!) to change things up a bit. This recipe is a winner for sure. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Yum! Better than the chinese restaurant. The only changes I made were: had no fresh ginger so added a few dashes of ground, and had no green bell pepper so used a yellow one instead. Adding beef bouillon to the meatballs was tasty; I had never tried that before, and they were awesome. The sauce was great too; thanks for a great recipe! UPDATE: Made this again using fresh ginger...much tastier! Although this time I was short on time and used Simek's mini beef meatballs, not as good. I prefer using pineapple tidbits, other than that this recipe needs no tweaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I doubled this recipe and used ground pork instead of beef I partialy cooked the meatballs then threw them into the slow cooker with the sauce on low for about 4-5 hours and it came out great! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made these meatballs for Thanksgiving. We have some in the family who aren't crazy about turkey. I made a double batch and followed the recipe as is , except that after the meatballs were cooked I dumped everything in a crockpot to cook. These turned out great and my husband has already requested them for our family Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Jeannotte
Home Town: Bethalto, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States