Sweet and Sour Meatballs IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
These were a welcome change in my house. The meatballs were very flavorfull. The kids thought they great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
My husband is not a huge fan of sweet and sour, but he loved this. It's a nice mild, beefier sweet/sour that is just wonderful. Turned out just perfect over brown rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was pretty good but could have used a little more sauce. I baked the meatballs in the oven on a cooling rack over a cookie sheet for 20 mins. at 400 deg. - it's easier than turning them in the saucepan and also collects any fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Very good! I really liked the sauce, although I might add a little more pineapple juice next time. Not too sweet and not too sour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Holdrege, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
i really liked the meatballs in this recipe. i only put in a few onions adn i put about a 1/4 cup of parsley. they were reall good. i added extra pineapple juice to the sause and didnt add more cornstarch, so it was a bit runny but that was my own fault. over all this wasn't the best recipe (except for the meatballs, delicious)but was still pretty dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
OMG!!! This is an excellent dish!!! I invited friends over and made these meatballs for them. I followed the directions EXACTLY and got perfect results! The sauce was just right (not too thick, not too thin). I used ground ginger because I didn't have fresh ginger on hand (just eyeball it). The meatballs are EXCELLENT served over egg noodles (I prefer noodles instead of rice). Serve with a tossed salad and cold applesauce on the side. These meatballs are very versatile and can be served with a variety of sauces (i.e. Bar-B-Q sauce or brown gravy - just omit the pepper and pineapple!) to change things up a bit. This recipe is a winner for sure. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
AMAZING!!! I changed the recipe a little--I didn't have beef bouillon, so that wasn't added at all. For the meatballs I used 1.2 lbs ground turkey and only added 1/3 cup bread crumbs and added a dash of soy sauce and minced garlic. I then cooked the meatballs about 3/4 of the way through in a little bit of canola oil before I added the sauce. I made the sauce exactly how it said minus adding the pineapple chunks at the end. It was absolutely delicious!! I served it over rice! You could add additional veggies to make it a meal--onions, water chestnuts, pea pods, etc. Overall--DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
They were just OK. I made it once and it was edible, but I wouldn't go through the trouble to make it again. I think there could be more sauce like other reviewers also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelter Island, New York, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I decided to use this recipe to serve to several guests at a dinner party. It was pretty easy to make and came out wonderful. I served the meatballs over white rice and everyone enjoyed them meatballs. I will definately be adding this recipe to my favorites to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States