Sweet and Sour Meatballs IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
These were a welcome change in my house. The meatballs were very flavorfull. The kids thought they great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
My husband is not a huge fan of sweet and sour, but he loved this. It's a nice mild, beefier sweet/sour that is just wonderful. Turned out just perfect over brown rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was pretty good but could have used a little more sauce. I baked the meatballs in the oven on a cooling rack over a cookie sheet for 20 mins. at 400 deg. - it's easier than turning them in the saucepan and also collects any fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Very good! I really liked the sauce, although I might add a little more pineapple juice next time. Not too sweet and not too sour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Holdrege, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
i really liked the meatballs in this recipe. i only put in a few onions adn i put about a 1/4 cup of parsley. they were reall good. i added extra pineapple juice to the sause and didnt add more cornstarch, so it was a bit runny but that was my own fault. over all this wasn't the best recipe (except for the meatballs, delicious)but was still pretty dang good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
OMG!!! This is an excellent dish!!! I invited friends over and made these meatballs for them. I followed the directions EXACTLY and got perfect results! The sauce was just right (not too thick, not too thin). I used ground ginger because I didn't have fresh ginger on hand (just eyeball it). The meatballs are EXCELLENT served over egg noodles (I prefer noodles instead of rice). Serve with a tossed salad and cold applesauce on the side. These meatballs are very versatile and can be served with a variety of sauces (i.e. Bar-B-Q sauce or brown gravy - just omit the pepper and pineapple!) to change things up a bit. This recipe is a winner for sure. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
AMAZING!!! I changed the recipe a little--I didn't have beef bouillon, so that wasn't added at all. For the meatballs I used 1.2 lbs ground turkey and only added 1/3 cup bread crumbs and added a dash of soy sauce and minced garlic. I then cooked the meatballs about 3/4 of the way through in a little bit of canola oil before I added the sauce. I made the sauce exactly how it said minus adding the pineapple chunks at the end. It was absolutely delicious!! I served it over rice! You could add additional veggies to make it a meal--onions, water chestnuts, pea pods, etc. Overall--DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
They were just OK. I made it once and it was edible, but I wouldn't go through the trouble to make it again. I think there could be more sauce like other reviewers also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelter Island, New York, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I decided to use this recipe to serve to several guests at a dinner party. It was pretty easy to make and came out wonderful. I served the meatballs over white rice and everyone enjoyed them meatballs. I will definately be adding this recipe to my favorites to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States