Sweet and Sour Meatballs IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
AMAZING!!! I changed the recipe a little--I didn't have beef bouillon, so that wasn't added at all. For the meatballs I used 1.2 lbs ground turkey and only added 1/3 cup bread crumbs and added a dash of soy sauce and minced garlic. I then cooked the meatballs about 3/4 of the way through in a little bit of canola oil before I added the sauce. I made the sauce exactly how it said minus adding the pineapple chunks at the end. It was absolutely delicious!! I served it over rice! You could add additional veggies to make it a meal--onions, water chestnuts, pea pods, etc. Overall--DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Yum! Better than the chinese restaurant. The only changes I made were: had no fresh ginger so added a few dashes of ground, and had no green bell pepper so used a yellow one instead. Adding beef bouillon to the meatballs was tasty; I had never tried that before, and they were awesome. The sauce was great too; thanks for a great recipe! UPDATE: Made this again using fresh ginger...much tastier! Although this time I was short on time and used Simek's mini beef meatballs, not as good. I prefer using pineapple tidbits, other than that this recipe needs no tweaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I decided to use this recipe to serve to several guests at a dinner party. It was pretty easy to make and came out wonderful. I served the meatballs over white rice and everyone enjoyed them meatballs. I will definately be adding this recipe to my favorites to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I doubled this recipe and used ground pork instead of beef I partialy cooked the meatballs then threw them into the slow cooker with the sauce on low for about 4-5 hours and it came out great! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
My husband is not a huge fan of sweet and sour, but he loved this. It's a nice mild, beefier sweet/sour that is just wonderful. Turned out just perfect over brown rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made these meatballs for Thanksgiving. We have some in the family who aren't crazy about turkey. I made a double batch and followed the recipe as is , except that after the meatballs were cooked I dumped everything in a crockpot to cook. These turned out great and my husband has already requested them for our family Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Jeannotte
Home Town: Bethalto, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I made this for a luau last week and everyone raved about it. It competed with a variety of other foods, but these meatballs were the hit! We put everything (but the peppers and pineapple chunks) into a crock pot and left it on high for maybe an hour (until it hit a boil) then switched it to low, added the peppers and pineapple, and kept it there for several hours during the party. I altered the amount to serve 20, so, if putting this in a crock pot, keep an eye on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
These were a welcome change in my house. The meatballs were very flavorfull. The kids thought they great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
OMG!!! This is an excellent dish!!! I invited friends over and made these meatballs for them. I followed the directions EXACTLY and got perfect results! The sauce was just right (not too thick, not too thin). I used ground ginger because I didn't have fresh ginger on hand (just eyeball it). The meatballs are EXCELLENT served over egg noodles (I prefer noodles instead of rice). Serve with a tossed salad and cold applesauce on the side. These meatballs are very versatile and can be served with a variety of sauces (i.e. Bar-B-Q sauce or brown gravy - just omit the pepper and pineapple!) to change things up a bit. This recipe is a winner for sure. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States